Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Double knit piano scarf

Posted by Andi on May 11, 2008

Doublke knit piano scarf

Pattern: Used this stitch pattern and revised it for double knitting.
Yarn: Cascade 220 2 hanks white, 2 hanks black
Needles: US 7

I love how this scarf looks, but I’m disappointed with the length. With the way I wear my scarves I wish it were just a bit longer. I don’t think I had enough yarn to knit another octave, so I stopped. Also, I was sick of making it. Once I tried it on I noticed that it was wide enough to wear as a small shawl instead of a scarf, so maybe I won’t be wearing it as I had originally intended, but it will still be useful.

9 Responses to “FO: Double knit piano scarf”

  1. I love it! it is totally gorgeous!!!!

  2. Michelle said

    wow this is sooooooooooo awesome, i’ve been looking to buy a piano scarf since like, maybe last year. but then i thought, since i’m in a knitting group, i could just learn how to make one myself!

  3. Erin said

    I am attempting this pattern… I altered it into a double knit and it’s slow going but coming together really nice! I think that if I don’t get sick of making it before I’m done, it will turn out great! I bought 3 skeins of each the white and black as you mentioned you felt yours was a bit short. The intended recipient is my mom, who is a piano teacher, but also an elementary school teacher where she has to stand out side for recess. I thought the thickness of this scarf due to the double knit would be perfect! We shall see!

  4. Mrs. R. Warnke said

    I cannot get either file to open for me. I would love to try this for a Chirstmas gift. Could you save it as a PDF and send it or upload it?

    Thank you!

    Called by the Lord,
    Mrs. R. Warnke

  5. […] First modification: using the double-knit technique, which creates a mirror image of one side on the other side (example here) […]

  6. […] stunning piano scarf from Knitstant Gratification is knitted double, giving the appearance of stocking stitch on both sides. I’d love to […]

Leave a comment