Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Archive for April 30th, 2017

Marching Back

Posted by Andi on April 30, 2017

I’m way behind on posting my FOs, so I’m going back to show three of my four FOs in March (now that April is almost over).

Shizuku
Pattern: Shizuku by Angela Tong
Yarn: Noro Kureyon in 219, 2.08 skeins (228.8 yards)
Needles: US 8
Date started: March 9, 2017
Date completed: March 15, 2017

This was a specific project to earn Winter Camp points. In March, you could receive bonus points for making something for your neck, and green was one of the of bonus colors. I almost made a fingering weight shawl, but then I remembered I had this Noro Kureyon in my stash, which had green in it. Plus, I already owned the pattern (it was in one of the knitting pattern calendars my mother gave to me), and had been planning to use that yarn with it, and it’s a scarf. Perfect!

This was a very quick knit. I did go a bit beyond the pattern. The pattern says when to stop increasing and start decreasing, but I kept increasing until I used a full skein of yarn, then started decreasing. Yes, I was playing yarn chicken, but I had some leftover yarn from a hat I made with another skein of this Noro, so I knew I had backup yarn if needed. It was needed. I think the skein I cast on with had a bit more yarn than the skein I stared decreasing with. Oh well. I love how it turned out.

Rose City Rollers
Pattern: Rose City Rollers by Mara Catherine Bryner
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi in Millends, .81 skein (173.5 yards)
Needles: US 1
Date started: February 26, 2017
Date completed: March 18, 2017

This yarn has been in my stash for years and years. I bought it off a member of my old knitting group in the city. She bought it from the Lorna’s Laces sale they have once in a while. It’s a small skein. Until the past few years, Lorna’s Laces sold this yarn in smaller skeins so that you needed to skeins to make a regular pair of socks (now each skein has more yardage, so you can get a full pair of socks out of one skein). I only had one skein, so I couldn’t make a regular pair of socks, but I figured I could make a pair of anklets. I’ve been wanting to try this pattern, too, so I figured it was a perfect match.

I love these socks. They are so comfortable, and the roll just barely peeks out of my shoes. They are perfect. I can’t want to make more.

Made for a friend who is attending the March for Science #knitting #craftivism
Pattern: GENEie Pussyhat by ChemKnits
Yarn: Stonehedge Fiber Mill Shepherd’s Wool Worsted in Hot Pink, .46 skein (115 yards)
Needles: US 6
Date started: March 31, 2017
Date completed: March 31, 2017

In another act of craftism, I made this hat for a friend who was going to attend the March for Science in Chicago. I loved that it combined the Pussy Hat shape with the DNA helix cable. I was even able to use leftover yarn from the first Pussy Hat I made for a friend who went to the Women’s March in DC. I am glad I was able to use almost the whole skein.

There is one more project I made in March – a sweater. But that deserves its own post.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »