Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Last FOs of 2016

Posted by Andi on January 22, 2017

For completeness, her are my last finished objects of 2016. Yes, I know we are three weeks into 2017 already, but I just took a picture of the final FO today.

Marian Girl
Pattern: Marian Girl by Taiga Hilliard Designs
Yarn: Lion Brand Pound of Love, .13 skein (136.6 yards)
Needles: US 6 and US 7
Date started: December 4, 2016
Date completed: December 12, 2016

My cousin’s significant other had a baby a few months back. As I detailed here, I started making another sweater for the baby well before it was born, hated it, and started over making a new sweater. This is the new sweater.

I loved knitting this. It was easy, but so cute. Here is a view of the back.

Marian Girl

I love how it flares out a bit at the bottom.

This sweater was not finished (or even started for that matter) by the time the baby was born, but it was finished in time for my mom to send it off with the rest of the Christmas presents for that part of the family.

A River Runs Through Mitt
Pattern: A River Runs Through Mitt by Aimee Pelletier
Yarn: Cascade 200 Superwash in 893, .54 skein (118.8 yards)
Needles: US 7
Date started: December 17, 2016
Date completed: December 20, 2016

I made these for a coworker whose hands get cold a lot. She is modeling the mitts in the above photo. Her nail polish was a wreck that day, so she didn’t want to show the tops of her fingers, hence the fists. The yarn I used in this project was left over from a shawl I made my mother a couple of years ago.

Last, but not least…

Alla Moda
Pattern: Alla Moda by Gina Bonomo
Yarn: Purl Soho Line Weight in 1110 Ballet Pink (1 skein, 494 yards) and 2040 Toasted Charcoal (1 skein, 494 yards)
Needles: US 8
Date started: August 22, 2016
Date completed: December 26, 2016

This took a long time to knit because I used it as my travel project for several months. I finally finished it at the end of December because I was so close to being done, and I wanted all of that yardage to count as “yards out” for 2016.

I bought the yarn for this project a few years ago from Purl Soho when I was on a business trip to New York. I loved how the colors looked together, and definitely knew I wanted to use both skeins in a single project. For the longest time I was queuing 2-color shawls, and going back and forth on which one to actually knit. I finally decided on this one because I thought it would be really easy. I didn’t have to carry a pattern around with me. I just continued knitting until I ran out of yarn.

There is one thing that disappointed me about how this turned out. In the picture, one of the colors is clearly gray. But the other is actually a light pink, and in the scarf it looks off-white. Even while knitting it I could tell the pink got lost. You can tell it’s pink if you look closely. Oh well.

That said, I love this scarf so much. It’s so light and smooshy. I almost want to make another one, but I would definitely use the Line Weight if I was going to. It’s stockinette, but after blocking it doesn’t curl as much as it did on the needles. If you need a striking but simple knit to use up some fingering weight yarn, I highly recommend this pattern.

So that’s it. The knitting year of 2016 is over. My next post will discuss whether I succeeded in my 2016 knitting resolutions, and what my 2017 knitting resolutions are.

Leave a Reply

 
