Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Knitting for Standing Rock

Posted by Andi on January 2, 2017

In late November, a Raverly friend posted a link to the Unplanned Peacock Studio website. They were selling skeins of bulky yarn at cost (quite a discount) if those who bought it promised to make a hat or cowl to send to the water protectors at Standing Rock. I thought it was a great idea, so I purchased a skein, which turned out to be a lovely shade of blue and white. The yarn page also had links to some patterns that would work with the yarn, so I picked the hat pattern I liked best and got started knitting.

Big Chunky Comfy Hat
Pattern: Big Chunky Comfy Hat by Erica Kempf Broughton
Yarn: Unplanned Peacock Studio Merino Bulky, .48 skein (57.6 yards)
Needles: US 10.5
Date started: December 6, 2016
Date completed: December 6, 2016

The hat actually looks much nicer than it does in the picture. It looks a little wonky because it’s ribbed and not stretched at all. Trust me, it looks really nice on. Actually, it’s inside out, as are the photos on the Ravelry pattern page. It turns out the hat is reversible, but it’s written the opposite way as in the pictures. When I started knitting it I had the intention of keeping it the correct way – the way it was written. But guess what – I liked it better inside out. So that’s the way I knit it.

I went down a needle size because I tend to be a loose knitter (something I’m working on), and was surprised to find that I only used about half the skein. The hat isn’t huge, but both myself and Tim. We both have smallish heads, but so do a lot of other people so I kept it as is, and decided to knit a second smallish adult hat.

Super Soft Merino Hat
Pattern: Super Soft Merino Hat by Purl Soho
Yarn: Unplanned Peacock Studio Merino Bulky, .46 skein (55.2 yards)
Needles: US 10.5
Date started: December 7, 2016
Date completed: December 8, 2016

This hat also fit both myself and Tim, so I felt comfortable sending it. I packaged both hats and sent them.

I loved working with this yarn. I don’t knit with bulky yarn often, so I got a kick out of finishing two hats so quickly. I also loved how the yarn knit up, so I looked at the other yarns on the Unplanned Peacock Studio website. They have so many pretty colors! There is one I want to make a sweater, but since I’m really trying for real this time to curb my yarn buying and knit from my stash it might be a while before I get to it.

Leave a Reply

 
