Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Antlers Scarf

Posted by Andi on December 18, 2016

Antlers Scarf
Pattern: Antlers Scarf by Micah P. Dammeyer
Yarn: Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice in 180 Cranberry, 2.98 skeins (506 yards)
Needles: US 7
Date started: October 2, 2016
Date completed: December 4, 2016

This was one of the projects that helped me get my knitting mojo back. Tim wanted a new scarf this winter, and I wanted to finish it before too much of winter went by. Luckily it was only cold one or two days by the time I finished it, so he will have it most of the winter.

Tim decided he wanted a red scarf, and he wanted machine washable yarn. My mom had a coupon for JoAnn Fabrics back in the summer, so I bought four skeins of Vanna’s Choice for him. Unfortunately they didn’t have four skeins in any one dye lot, so I bought 2 skeins from each of two different dye lots.

I wasn’t sure how long I was going to make the scarf. I used two of the skeins from one dye lot first, and then Tim tried it on. He wanted to be able to wrap it around his neck twice, and he could do that but then it didn’t really hang down at all. I used three skeins total, and I don’t think it’s obvious that one skein came from another dye lot. I’m going to use the fourth skein to knit Tim a hat in January.

Tim loves cables, so I wasn’t surprised he chose this pattern. It was actually pretty easy to memorize.

Antlers Scarf

It’s a good thing it was easy to remember and knit, because someone else asked me for one. I might be making another, which is fine because it was a fun knit.

Leave a Reply

 
