Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

More Hexipuffs!

Posted by Andi on May 22, 2016

After I finished my Frost Flowers Stole I went back to knitting some socks I started for Tim. I had to put them on the side to finish the shawl on time. I was making good progress. I finished the first sock, started the second sock. I was moving right along when I realized that I was doing the gusset wrong. I didn’t have the stitches distributed on the needles correctly, so I was decreasing in the wrong place.

I just wanted to throw the socks down and forget about them, but I didn’t. I ripped back to where I had to pick up stitches to start the gusset so I wouldn’t forget what the problem was, or pick them up one day and forget it was wrong and knit even more. Then I put them in time out.

I needed something else to do, so I decided to knit some hexipuffs. Back at the end of 2015 I started knitting hexipuffs out of yarn a friend sent me. I didn’t get through all of the different fingering weight yarns she sent before the end of the year, so I spent the past couple of weeks making hexipuffs out of the different yarns she sent me.

More hexipuffs!

I have finally used up the yarn she gave me last night – except for two white balls of yarn that I’m saving for cuffs, heels and toes for socks.

It was so nice out yesterday that I was able to knit some of the hexipuffs outside! The weather has been really on and off here. We have one or two nice days, and then a week of icky days. But yesterday it was sunny and warm, and we spent the afternoon on our front porch.

It's a gorgeous day, finally, so I'm knitting on the porch.

After I finished those hexipuffs I filled my current hexipuff project bag with leftovers another friend, one from my knitting group, gave me. I will try to make two hexipuffs out of each leftover yarn she sent me too. I may or may not start that today.

Oh, and Tim’s socks. I did pick up the gusset stitches and did the first decrease row. I stopped there so that I can finish the gusset and work on the foot on my trip this week.

Leave a Reply

 
