Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Frost Flowers Stole

Posted by Andi on May 14, 2016

Frost Flowers Stole
Pattern: Frost Flowers Shawl by Charlene Schurch
Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss Lace in 24846 Lilac, 2.44 skeins (1073.6 yards, 122 g)
Needles: US 5
Date started: April 4, 2016
Date completed: May 7, 2016

I worked on this shawl fairly monogamously through the month of April so that it would be finished in time to wear to a wedding on May 7. If you look at the date above, you will see I actually finished it on the day, which is a bit misleading because I only wove in the ends that day. I finished knitting it and blocking it earlier in the week. I thought this shawl looked pretty complicated, but the lace was actually pretty intuitive after I got a row or two into each repeat. Here is a close up of the lace.

Frost Flowers Stole

I wore the shawl to the wedding. I thought it looked nice with my dress. Someone actually stopped Tim and I on the street on the way to the wedding to tell us how nice we looked.

Sometimes we lion nice

Everyone in my knit group was looking forward to seeing the finished shawl because I have been knitting on it for so many weeks. So I brought it on Monday, and one of the ladies noticed a hole! Oh no! Thankfully it was just on the seam. The shawl is knit in the round from the outside in, and grafted together in the middle. Apparently when I blocked it, I stretched it too long for the seam and it snapped. Thankfully only a few stitches came out of the seam, and because this yarn is not too slick none of the stitches dropped down. I quickly put the loose stitches on waste yarn, and I will be able to repair it soon. I just couldn’t bring myself to do it yet. But I will.

One Response to “Frost Flowers Stole”

  1. […] Frost Flowers Stole […]

Leave a Reply

 
