Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Lots of Accessories!

Posted by Andi on April 10, 2016

As Winter Camp was winding down I wanted to get as many points as possible. I didn’t want to knit on something large and not finish it by the deadline, meaning I would not get points for a couple of weeks of knitting. Once the sweater was done I only made small, quick accessories so that everything I knit in March would count.

Here they are, in the order in which I completed them.

Morning Mist
Pattern: Morning Mist by Sandrine C.
Yarn: Colour Adventure Girly Fun DK in Forest (.64 skein, 147.8 yards, 64 grams)
Needles: US 6
Date started: March 6, 2016
Date completed: March 18, 2016

I won this yarn from the A Homespun House podcast. It’s one of the few skeins of DK weight yarn I have. It’s not clear from the photo, but there is sparkle in the yarn. I wanted a new pair of fingerless mitts, and since I only had one skein of this yarn I thought it would be perfect. I love them. Except for the cast on. The pattern calls for a cable cast on, and I couldn’t understand why the cast on wasn’t more stretchy. That would be because I didn’t put the stitches on the needle correctly. Oops! I’m actually working on another project with a cable cast on and did it right, and it makes a world of difference.

Bath Mitt
Pattern: Bath Mitt by Lily Sugar’n Cream and Bernat Design Studio
Yarn: Lily Sugar’n Cream in 1404 Yellow (.59 skein, 71 yards, 42 grams)
Needles: US 9
Date started: March 18, 2016
Date completed: March 19, 2016

Back around the holidays, the manager of the restaurant where my knitting group meets bought a bunch of cotton yarn for us. I took this lovely yellow yarn, and decided to make a bath mitt out of it. I made such a major mistake on it, though. It’s knit from the cuff up. I separated and made the thumb, then went back to knit the hand. I don’t know what I was thinking, but I started the hand decreases right away instead of knitting even for a while. The hand was shorter than the thumb! Oops! So I had to rip back and add more length to to the hand.

Generally I think this is great. The garter stitch is nice and scrubby but soft on my skin. If I were to make it again, however, I would go down a couple of needle sizes. I used the needle called for in the pattern, and didn’t make a swatch. Actually, if I made a swatch I probably still wouldn’t have recognized the problem. When it gets wet, the garter stitch grows a lot. A tighter gauge would be better. I have more cotton yarn (including more of this yarn) so I think I’m going to try a tighter one soon.

Lovely Linen Stitch Cowl
Pattern: Lovely Linen Stitch Cowl by Gaspereau Valley Fibres
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Bulky in 808 Maple Grove (1.88 skeins, 262.7 yards, 212 grams)
Needles: US 13
Date started: March 16, 2016
Date completed: March 20, 2016

This yarn was reclaimed from a scarf I no longer liked. I frogged the scarf and washed the yarn a year or two ago. I wanted to find a pattern that would use as much of the yarn as possible. It is hard to tell from the photo because there is no scale, but this is a long cowl. I can wrap it around my neck twice. It’s nice and big and I think it will be very warm. I finished it just in time for spring! Here in Chicago, however, we seem to be having a second winter. It has snowed at least a little bit most days in April so far. If I go out today maybe I will wear it.

Dead Simple Lace Socks
Pattern: Dead Simple Lace Socks by Wendy D. Johnson
Yarn: Colinette Jitterbug in 55 Toscana (.68 skein, 272 yards, 102 grams)
Needles: US 1
Date started: March 12, 2016
Date completed: March 27, 2016

I finished these socks in about two weeks, but I finished the first sock in a few days, and then held off on the second sock until I had a travel week so I could take it on the plane. They knit up quickly – probably because, even though Ravelry says this is a fingering weight yarn, it’s actually more of a sport weight.

I’m a little nervous about this yarn. When I went to wind it I discovered it’s 100% merino, with no nylon content. I almost never make socks with 100% merino (except when I first started knitting socks and didn’t know any better) because they are weaker and wear out faster. But I bought this yarn specifically to make socks. I didn’t want to make anything else out of it, so I decided these might be house socks. That’s fine. I wore them the other day when it was cold in the apartment and they kept my feet nice and warm. I have also heard bad things about the dye on this yarn, that for some people it has bled badly. As you can see, this yarn is a light color with some really bright bits. I’m really worried the bright bits are going to bleed and get all over the light parts. I haven’t washed these socks yet. I guess if they are house socks no one will see them, so it won’t matter if they bleed, but it will make me sad.

Skimmer Socks
Pattern: Skimmer Socks by Sheila Toy Stromberg
Yarn: Leading Men Fiber Arts Show Stealer in Thus with a Kiss I Die (.3 skeins, 130.5 yards, 30 grams)
Needles: US 1 and 1.5
Date started: March 27, 2016
Date completed: March 30, 2016

Aren’t these cute? These are supposed to be those little socks you wear with shoes that aren’t supposed to show. I made these with leftovers from the pair of socks I made my mom for her birthday back in December. They only took 30 grams of yarn. Usually my sock leftovers are smaller than that, but sometimes I have that much. Right now I’m making a pair of socks for Tim out of this same yarn. I was hoping I would have 30 grams left over, but I don’t think I will. His socks are cabled and he has bigger feet than my mom, so it will use more of the yarn. Oh well. If they truly don’t show I can make monster versions with lots of leftovers. I haven’t worn these yet, so I can’t report how well they work in shoes. I also have another pattern that I’m going to try, and I’m going to see which works better.

So that wraps up my Winter Camp knitting! I ended up with 467 points, so I should have nine entries for prizes. But that wasn’t what it was about for me. I used this as a challenge for myself to make all of the projects out of stash yarn, and I was successful. I didn’t buy any yarn during this period either. I loved the challenge. I just heard they will be doing it again next year, so I will participate then as well.

Leave a Reply

 
