Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Simple Braided Cable Knit Hat

Posted by Andi on March 13, 2016

I finished the second of the green and brown shawls with a few days left to go in February, and there was one type of Winter Camp extra points for February that I hadn’t collected yet – color. One of the colors for February was orange, and I happened to have an extra skein of orange yarn in my stash. I originally intended to buy one skein of Cascade 220 in orange to make amigurumi carrots. And, in fact, I did by a skein – and promptly forgot and bought another one. So, extra orange yarn! Perfect! There were only a few days left in February, but I thought I could eke out an orange hat.

So I did!

Simple Braided Cable Knit Hat
Pattern: Simple Braided Cable Knit Hat by Melissa Leapman
Yarn: Cascade 220 in 9465B Burnt Orange (.78 skien, 171.6 yards)
Needles: US 7
Date started: February 25, 2016
Date completed: February 27, 2016

I searched Ravelry for a pattern, focused on patterns I already owned, and decided on this one. This pattern is out of one of the earliest knitting books I bought: Cables Untangled by Melissa Leapman. When I started going through to book looking for the pattern instructions I realized I had this book for many years, but never knit anything out of it. There are some blankets in this book I really want to make. I’m thinking about making the Harvest Tweed Afghan for Tim. But the main reason I wanted this book was to have the Sampler Afghan pattern. I completely forgot I had this pattern, and I want to make it so badly.

Anyway, back to the hat. This was such an easy pattern. Once you get past the brim there is an easy to memorize 4-row repeat until you get to the decreases. The cable is pretty easy as well. This would be a fantastic project for someone who wants to try their hands at cables, but don’t want the commitment of making a larger sweater or something. It knit up so quickly. And with this yarn it’s so nice and warm – just in time for spring! So I may not wear it until next year, but it will be nice and warm when I do. If I were to make it again using this yarn I would probably go down a needle size or two because it’s just a tad bit loose. My head is small, but my hair is so thin that hats are often big on me. But this one will do. It’s not too loose.

As you may recall, I also made an orange hat for Tim. The orange of Tim’s hat is much brighter than the orange hat I made myself. We haven’t tried to wear them on the same day yet. I wonder how that will look!

Leave a Reply

 
