Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Catching Up, Part 1 – The First FOs

Posted by Andi on December 28, 2015

I haven’t posted in a long time. Part of it is that life has been in the way. The other part is that some of what I was knitting was gifts, either for Christmas or for other things, so I wasn’t able to post them.

So here we go.

Regina
Pattern: Regina by Carina Spencer
Yarn: Rowan Pure Wool Superwash Worsted in Damson (.19 skein, 41.6 yards) and Granite (.51 skein, 111.5 yards)
Needles: US 7
Date started: October 18, 2015
Date completed: November 7, 2016

This is a hat that I made for the Puck This! Fall Swap. This is the first swap I was part of that didn’t involving sending skeins of yarn. Instead we made cool weather accessories for our swap partner, as well as a goodie. Interestingly, I’m wearing the nail polish I received from my swap partner as I type this!!

I Love You More Than Pumpkin Spice Socks
Pattern: I Love You More Than Pumpkin Spice Socks by C.C. Almon
Yarn: Rainbow Heirloom Sock in Orange Peel (.6 skein) and Pumpkin Spice (.6 skein) 278.4 yards
Needles: US 1
Date started: November 4, 2015
Date completed: November 25, 2015

This pattern and yarn came as part of a kit, and I made these socks for myself. My goal was to have them done in time to wear them for Thanksgiving, and I finished them just in time. I love the stitch pattern. It’s a pumpkin cable and the lacy bits look like vines. I love the yarn. It loves a lovely sheen, and the colors are gorgeous. The back is different.

I Love You More Than Pumpkin Spice Socks

Aren’t they cute? I also love how they match but don’t match. I love the idea of having two different colored socks.

Maize
Pattern: Maize by tin can knits
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease, .49 skeins (96.5 yards)
Needles: US 6
Date started: December 10, 2015
Date completed: December 12, 2015

This was the first Christmas present I finished (though not the first one I started). These were for Tim’s dad. I thought fingerless mitts are always useful. I have to admit, I got the idea of making fingerless mitts on Thanksgiving weekend when we all went to the movies and it was freezing in the theater. They just come in handy. I figure they come in handy so much, in fact, that I also made a pair for Tim’s mom.

Rathcooney Fingerless Mittens
Pattern: Rathcooney Fingerless Mittens by Carol Feller
Yarn:Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Gray Heather, .49 skeins (96.5 yards)
Needles: US 6
Date started: December 12, 2015
Date completed: December 13, 2015

I didn’t decide to make the mitt’s for Tim’s mom until I was making them for his dad. Again, they just come in handy. I’m wearing a pair myself today, and thinking of making another pair. Fingerless mitts for everyone!

That’s it for today. I have a few more finished objects to show, but one is currently blocking, another needs to block, and the third I need the photo which I don’t have handy right now. That post is forthcoming. I will also do another catch up post involving my new stash enhancement.

Leave a Reply

 
