Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Quick Sand

Posted by Andi on November 22, 2015

Quick Sand
Pattern: Quick Sand by Heidi Kirrmaier
Yarn: Berroco Captiva in Silver, 8.12 skeins (795.8 yards)
Needles: US 9
Date started: September 18, 2015
Date completed: November 14, 2015

I finished this lightweight sweater just in time for winter. And it’s my own fault. I actually finished the knitting 13 days before I wove in the ends. We had an extended autumn this year, so that’s 13 days I could have worn this sweater. Instead I only wore it one day – the day after I finished it. It was kind of warmer that day. That was it.

This sweater is knit from the top down, and uses an increase I have never used or even heard of before. As I started increasing for the yoke I noticed that the increases created holes in the knitting. I didn’t like how it looked. I wondered if other knitters had the same issue, so I looked at the finished projects on Ravelry and discovered that the holes from the increases line up and are actually a design element of the garment. So I kept going, and now I love the increase holes.

Quick Sand

The pattern calls for aran weight yarn. I was surprised to see that the Captiva yarn is classified as aran weight on Ravelry given how thin it is. I love the drape on this garment, which was knit on size 9 needles. I think if I had used a smaller needle the fabric would gave been stiff. However, on a size 9, the knit stitches are open, if that makes sense.

Quick Sand

This isn’t a sweater that will keep me warm on a really cold day, but it will be perfect for spring and autumn, or slightly cooler summer nights.

I haven’t started another sweater yet. I have a few sweater’s quantities of yarns, and I’m not sure which one I want to do next. I have a few things I need to finish first before I can start another sweater.

3 Responses to “Quick Sand”

  1. Hi, Because of your sweater, I decided to use my stash of Captiva yarn & buy this pattern. I have never knit an adult sweater only a baby. I was wondering if you gauged this project? Are you a tight or loose knitter? Was it to gauge? Thank you for your help, I appreciate it. I am on revelry & I’m going to send this message to you on revelry also.

  2. lisab said

    I am knitting this pattern now and am just starting the sleeves. Did you have a weird hole/gap in the under arm? I’m wondering if I made a mistake when I did the split off for the sleeves. If you could post a photo of your under arm, I would be most grateful. And when do you ever get to ask something like that except on a knitting site?

    • Andi said

      I don’t think you made a mistake. I got holes by the underarms, where the underarm meets the body. I thought I had closed them up on the wrong side, but I realized I missed on. I tried the sweater on, and it’s not noticeable unless I lift my arm above my head.

Leave a Reply

 
