Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Dalkey Mitts and Cowl

Posted by Andi on November 6, 2015

Dalkey Mitts//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
Pattern: Dalkey Mitts by Carol Feller
Yarn: Sophie’s Toes Merino Sock in Pumpkin Spice, .3 skein (105 yards)
Needle: US 3
Date started: October 3, 2015
Date completed: October 8, 2015

Dalkey Cowl//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
Pattern: Dalkey Cowl by Carol Feller
Yarn: Sophie’s Toes Merino Sock in Pumpkin Spice, .54 skein (189 yards)
Needle: US 3
Date started: October 8, 2015
Date completed: October 26, 2015

I thought this yarn was cursed. I tried knitting several things with it over the years, but the projects never worked out. Earlier this fall, I decided to make one more attempt at a project with this yarn. I found these patterns in Carol Feller’s Contemporary Irish Knits book, which I love. When I realized I could get both a cowl and mitts out of one skein of yarn, I knew I had to try it with this yarn.

I really love the results. These pieces are perfect for autumn. The lace on the back of the hand and all over the cowl keep you from overheating when wearing it on slightly cooler days.

We’ve had unseasonably warm weather here lately, with highs in the low 70’s. The mornings are a tad bit cool, however. I don’t like wearing a jacket in the morning because it’s too warm to wear it on the way home. I wore the cowl and mitts the other morning for just a bit of added warmth, but unlike a jacket I can stick the accessories in my backpack on my way home from work. It was perfect and kept me from having a chill on a cool morning.

Leave a Reply

 
