Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Punky Cappuccino Socks

Posted by Andi on July 3, 2015

Punky Cappuccino socks
Pattern: C.C.’s Vanilla Cappuccino Socks by C.C. Almon
Yarn: Knit Picks Stroll Hand-Painted in Punky, .62 skein (286.4 yards)
Needles: US 1
Date started: June 16, 2015
Date completed: June 27, 2015

I love these socks. I mean, I really love these socks. I love everything about them. I love the way the colors flashed. I love the way they fit. I love the way the yarn feels. I just love these socks!

I used the fish lips kiss heel for the first time with these socks. And guess what… I love the heel. It fits great.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, the fish lips kiss heel is a short row heel that doesn’t involve wrap & turns. I wanted to give this heel a shot because no matter how well I make a short row heel with wrap & turns, I feel like the two sides of my heel always look different. I don’t like how it looks. But I like the ease of short row socks, particularly when knitting magic loop. I find picking up gusset stitches to be a bit of a pain.

The great thing about the instructions for the heel is that they come with instructions for toe-up and cuff-down socks. It also has detailed instructions for measuring your foot to determine when to start the heel. I have to admit I didn’t do that. I made these socks from the toe up, and since I usually start my heels when I’m 2.5″ away from the full length of my foot I decided to try that and it was perfect. It fits great.

I made a bigger cuff than usual, yet I still feel like these socks didn’t use enough yards – they took only 286.4 yards, bringing my total knit (or destashed) to 5,757.4 yards (I destashed some yarn as a prize this week). I’ve procured 7,742.2 yards, so I’m at 74.4%. Ugh. Not where I want to be.

Leave a Reply

 
