Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

WWKIPD 2015 – I finished something!

Posted by Andi on June 14, 2015

Yesterday was World Wide Knit in Public Day. I didn’t even realize it until the day before when someone from my knitting group posted about it. I looked at a list of events in the Chicago area and wasn’t jazzed with any of them, so I took my knitting out in public to a place I wanted to go. I chose a new local bar, and knit there for a while. My knitting is pictured here with a delicious glass of cider.

Enjoying a cider on World Wide Knit In Public Day #wwkipd #knitting #2townsciderhouse #ginjaninja

This is the second sock. I got all the way to the toe decreases, but didn’t quite finish it before we left. I finished it shortly after I got home.

Rainbow Swirl Socks
Pattern: Rainbow Swirl Socks by Ann McClure
Yarn: Berroco Sox in 1483, .7 skein (308 yards)
Needles: US 1
Date started: April 24, 2013
Date completed: June 13, 2013

I think the pooling is kind of cool. The yarn has three colors: light gray, dark gray, and magenta. In any given spot of the pool there are two colors, which show up every other row. This is also the first sock I ever knit that called for a stockinette stitch heel flap. I’ve made other stockinette stitch heels, but they were all short row heels as opposed to heel flaps. We’ll see how it wear. This is pretty sturdy sock yarn, so I’m not concerned.

This yarn used up 308 yards of yarn from a fairly large skein, so I will have plenty of yarn left over from hexipuffs. That small amount of yardage is a fraction of the amount I purchased recently. I know, I know. Not good. So I’m at 62.8% right now. I have a sweater that is fairly close to coming off the needles, but that’s still not going to get me very far. I thought I was going to finish that sweater this past week, but I had a few days of hand pain from typing, and I had to work on the airplane during my trip, so I didn’t get a lot of knitting done the past week or so. But I’m plugging away.

Leave a Reply

 
