Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

What to get?

Posted by Andi on May 30, 2015

My birthday was a couple of weeks ago. I got two knitting related birthday presents. The first was a copy of Sock Architecture by Lara Neel. I’ve been wanting to try all the heels and toes in that book so that I make socks in any way that I want to and be able to customize other patterns easily, but I will probably start by knitting the patterns in the book. Woo hoo!

The second gift was a gift certificate to a local yarn store. I was trying to think of what to buy, and while I’m still not certain I have narrowed it down a bit. I have knit a lot of things, and some pretty impressive things. But I don’t have any garments I have made for myself that are awesome. I have great accessories, but the sweaters I have made for myself are pretty plain. I decided I want to make an awesome sweater for myself – something interesting and with cables that look amazing. I also want it to be something that is versatile so I can get a lot of use out of it.

I didn’t want to narrow the patterns down too much. I figured I would go to the store with a handful of patterns in mind, see what yarns they have that suit each pattern, and decide what I want to make from there. If there is a bulky yarn I really like I might choose the Dickinson Pullover. I have loved this sweater for years, and I already own the pattern so that’s a plus.

The other two sweaters I picked both call for worsted weight yarn — the same yarn actually (Brooklyn Tweed SHELTER which I’m pretty sure my LYS doesn’t have). The first is Joist and the second is Rowe. I don’t own either of these patterns, but that’s okay. The problem is, if my LYS has a good substitution yarn, which of these patterns would I pick? Rowe requires so much more yarn that it’s the obvious choice. The yarn might cost more than the gift certificate is worth, so why not use the gift certificate for the most expensive project? We’ll see.

I have a couple other patterns I purchased recently where if there is any money left over on the gift certificate I might purchase yarn for these. They are both by Tin Can Knits. I just love their patterns, and I love how the garments have such a huge size range, anything from babies to larger adults. One is Snowflake. Some people have made it with one color, but I like it better with two colors. The other is Low Tide. Since that’s made with fingering weight yarn it’s probably going to be the cheapest of the projects.

So there you go. Right now I’m leaning toward Rowe, but I’ll see what’s speaking to me when I get to the shop.

Leave a Reply

 
