Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Birthday Socks

Posted by Andi on May 3, 2015

Birthday Socks
Pattern: Vanilla Bean Striped Socks by Emily O’Grady
Yarn: Zitron Trekking XXL in 553, .65 skein (298.4 yards)
Needles: US 1
Date started: April 2, 2015
Date completed: April 23, 2015

I call these socks Birthday Socks because I bought this yarn on my birthday in 2014. My birthday is in May. I took that day off work. My mom, Tim and I went to lunch, bought some seeds and plants for our garden, stopped at the yarn store (for my mom, not for me) and did some work in the garden.

Note I said we went to the yarn store for my mom. Well, you know what happens when I go into a yarn store – I rarely leave empty handed. I saw this skein of yarn, and I really wanted it, even though it’s not the colors I typically knit with for myself. But it was mid-May, we were preparing the garden, but it was such a gray day, and cold, and I really needed a bit of spring.

I decided to start knitting these socks more than a month before my birthday this year, in the hope that they would be done in time for me to wear them on my birthday. Well, they are! I have worn them once, and so I will wash them again and wear them next on my birthday, which is in 10 days.

Today I'm wearing my newest pair of socks. #wearingmyhandknits #knitting

I’m not super thrilled with how these turned out. I mean, they’re fine, but not what I wanted. First, I was hoping the stripes were more regular. They aren’t all the same width, and not always in order. The blue and purple were really rare, and I was disappointed they didn’t show up more. Although I knit the sock my own way, I used the stitch pattern from the Vanilla Bean Striped Socks which essentially involves slip stitches where the colors change. The problem is, sometimes the color changes were subtle. I would have to spend a lot of time deciding whether there was a new stripe. I think I want to do this stitch pattern again, only with self-striping sock yarn with more contrast.

As noted above, these socks used 298.4 yards of yarn, bringing my yards out total to 3,529.8 yards. My yards in amount is 5,693.2 yards, bringing my percentage to 63%. I’m getting there. I have three other projects that are currently on the needles that will bring me up to about 90%. Yay!

One Response to “Birthday Socks”

  1. Louise said

    It’s too bad they didn’t turn out how you were hoping but the colours bright and cheery!

Leave a Reply

 
