Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Rosen Bridge

Posted by Andi on April 19, 2015

Rosen Bridge
Pattern: Rosen Bridge by Martina Behm
Yarn: Misti Alpaca Lace in 7120 Sea Mist, 3.76 skeins (1,643.1 yards)
Needles: US 5
Date started: January 6, 2015
Date completed: April 6, 2015

I was gifted this pattern from the hosts of the KnerdGirl Knits videocast around the holidays. I was thrilled because I almost bought it a couple of days earlier, but didn’t, so it was such a pleasant surprise when I found out I won it!

This is the first Martina Behm pattern I have knit. I love how sophisticated it looks, but it didn’t start out that way. As I was knitting it, the yarn looked more rustic than I would like, and while it still looked ruffly, I wasn’t sure I was happy with it. That was kind of discouraging because it involved knitting stockinette stitch with many, many, many yards of laceweight yarn. I was concerned I would spend all this time working on this project and not like the finished item.

But I do like it. In fact, I love it!

Rosen Bridge

Blocking made a world of difference. The rusticness of the yarn, while still a bit evident close up, was diminished and it started to look a lot more sophisticated.

The thing I love best about this project is that it can be worn multiple ways. It can be used flat and worn as a shawl, but because it was knit in the round it can also be worn as a cowl. Because of that flexibility, I bet I will wear it a lot next winter. And by winter, I mean winter. Because the yarn is 100% alpaca it is super warm and fluffy. I could only stand wearing it in the below picture long enough for the picture to get snapped because I was getting hot.

Rosen Bridge

I adore how this shawl/cowl turned out, but man, this was the project that would never end. The great thing, though, was that it was a super easy knit, perfect for knitting in front of the television. Oh, the number of hours I watched hockey while knitting this. There are a lot of cheers, boos, and yelling at the television knit into this project!

Now, the numbers. Right before I finished this I bought some yarn to make a jacket, and that was a lot of yards in such that I had only knit 33.4% of the yards I had taken in. However, adding the 1,643.1 yards nearly doubled my yards out for the year in one project. I know have knit 3,131.4 yards, which brought the percentage all the way up to 70.1%! Woo hoo! Even better, I was recently contacted by someone on Ravelry who wanted to buy my leftover yarn from a project. I sent 90 yards of yarn to her, so that makes 3,231.4 yards out compared to 4,483.2 yards in, for 72.1%.

2 Responses to “Rosen Bridge”

  1. Linda said

    Wow! That is a beautiful shawl. Very unusual patterning…but turned out very nice!

  2. I love it around the neck, definitely ^_^

Leave a Reply

 
