Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Sierra Socks

Posted by Andi on April 5, 2015

Sierra Socks
Pattern: Improvised using Sockulator app
Yarn: ONline Supersocke 100 in Sierra, .62 skein (288.3 yards)
Needles: US 1
Date started: February 22, 2015
Date completed: March 31, 2015

This yarn had been in my stash forever. I had this yarn before I joined Ravelry in August, 2007. I’m not sure when exactly I bought it. I finally decided I needed to knit this.

Because of how thin the stripes are I figured I had to make a plain vanilla sock. I didn’t use a particular pattern when making this sock. I just cast on 64 stitches and went from there. A Ravelry friend made an app that I was testing to calculate the heel flap and heel turn pattern instructions. It worked really well, and I’m trying it wit a new pair of socks as well.

I am a bit disappointed with the yarn. If you look at the leg of the sock on the right, you will see a very defined section of faux fair isle with a red that is as dark as the red stripe. But if you look at the foot and at the other sock, you will see that the red bits aren’t nearly as dark. In this picture it almost looks like white-ish stripes instead of faux fair isle, though it’s a little more apparent in person. I wish it was like the right sock the whole way through. Oh well, there’s nothing I can do about that.

These socks used up 288.3 yards of yarn, bringing my total knit to 1,498.3 yards. With all of my recent yarn purchases and repurposing, I have taken in 4,493.2 yards. Doing the calculations, I have knit 33.4% of the number of yards I have taken in. That is not good, but my percentage will be much better in the next few days when the Neverending Project is finally finished.

Leave a Reply

 
