Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

New Yarn and New Old Yarn

Posted by Andi on April 1, 2015

There were a couple of weeks in the first part of March where I wasn’t knitting very much because of a repetitive stress injury. That doesn’t mean I wasn’t doing anything crafty, I just wasn’t knitting.

Besides starting to sew together my hexipuffs, I started my first attempt at repurposing yarn. I had this scarf that I really didn’t like much and haven’t worn in years.

Former scarf

I have a hat that matches it that I really like, but I was disappointed in how the scarf turned out. Since I couldn’t knit with my hands, I decided to frog the scarf and wash the yarn to get the kinks out. The yarn wasn’t in the best of shape and broke in a few places as I was unraveling it or balling it back up. I’m not sure if it was because of the moth issue from a couple of years ago or if I was handling the yarn too forcefully. Either way, here is what I was able to repurpose.

Lorna's Laces Shepherd Bulky in Maple Grove

By weight, this is 1.88 skeins (262.2 yards) of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Bulky in the Maple Grove colorway. I don’t know where the rest of the yarn is. I’m sure the leftovers are in my craft room somewhere, but I’m not sure I would use them together as they might look different now. After frogging the scarf I started looking for new things I could make with the yarn, and I think I settled on the Linen Stitch Cowl.

Around the same time, Knit Picks was having a sale on its green yarns in honor of St. Patrick’s Day. I wasn’t going to get anything, but then I remembered that I didn’t have yarn to make Emmery. I bought the pattern several years ago at Stitches Midwest, and never got around to buying yarn and making the sweater. I also don’t buy much sport weight yarn, so I didn’t have anything in my stash that would work. I figured this was the perfect time to get yarn for this project.

Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Sport in Aurora Heather

I choose Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Sport in the Aurora Heather colorway. I needed to purchase 12 skeins (1644 yards). In some ways this is a successful destash because I’m going to be using a pattern I’ve had for a long time that I paid for, but I had to buy almost a mile’s worth of yarn to destash a pattern! I’m hoping I already have some buttons in my small button stash to use.

I’m glad my hand and arm pain went away so that I could knit again because that means I have stopped buying yarn. I’m really in the hole yardage-wise now. Time to get knitting!

Leave a Reply

 
