Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

2015 Resolutions

Posted by Andi on January 18, 2015

I have made some knitting resolutions just year, just as I do every year. I made fewer this year because most years I make a bunch of resolutions and don’t stick to most of them, so this year I only have three.

1. Finally knit my vegetables. I need to get many skeins of Cascade 200 wound and ready to make vegetables. They will be the perfect project for the summer because they are small — no sweater or blanket on your lap in the summer!

2. Go through the bin of damaged knitwear, and either repair or frog as needed. As you may remember I had a moth or carpet beetle problem so that I ended up with small holes in some of my knitwear. They have all been washed and have been sitting in a bin with moth balls. I need to decide which things I’m going to repair and wear again, and which I’m going to frog. I never wore some of the shawls, and I figure I should repurpose the yarn.

I’ve been holding off on some of the repairs because in my mind they seem difficult — they are in places with intricate stitch patterns, and may involve more than one stitch. My goal was to start with a pair of fingerless gloves with an itty bitty hole in the inside of the thumb. The yarn is black so, which it will be difficult to work with, it will be difficult for others to see it.

However, I ended up starting with a sweater I recently made, which I found last week had a hole in it. This wasn’t due to a moth or carpet beetle, it just caught on something, or I wove it in poorly and the ends came out.

Sweater repair

Since it was pretty much just a dropped stitch I thought this would be an easy repair. And it was. I started by lifting the stitch back up.

Sweater repair

I threaded a bit of yarn through the stitch, pulled it to the wrong side, and wove those ends in. The hole was fixed, and I think it looks pretty good!

Sweater repair

So I have to keep progressing on the other things that need to be repair. Some will be basic fixes like this, and some won’t.

3. Yards in/yards out — knit more yards than I acquire. So far I’m off to a good start. I have three FOs, and haven’t purchased any yarn yet. The problem is, since I’m going to be frogging projects and repurposing yarn, that means more yarn is going to be entering my stash… again. I know there are at least three projects I’m going to frog, so I figure that is somewhere between 700 and 900 yards. Ugh! So I’m going to have to be particularly careful with purchasing yarn this year.

Leave a Reply

 
