Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Last 2 FOs of 2014

Posted by Andi on January 3, 2015

After completing my Christmas knitting and my Mosaic Mitts, I had to figure out what to knit for the rest of the year. I wanted to knit things that I could easily finish by December 31. I came up with two more things.

Outlier
Pattern: Outlier by Laura Aylor
Yarn: Needful Yarns Woodstock in the 5368 colorway
Needles: US 11
Date started: December 20, 2014
Date completed: December 24, 2014

This was a mystery knitalong that was described as something you could wear as a cowl or a poncho made out of bulky yarn. This yarn was left over from a sweater I finished four or five years ago. I had enough of the yarn to make a short sleeve one-button cardigan, but that idea started falling flat when I started wearing the sweater more often. I really didn’t want two garments out of the same yarn. So when this pattern came along, and it was free at first, I decided to give it a go.

There truly are many ways to wear this. You can wear it with the point on the side, much like a poncho, as I did in the picture. Or, you can move it about however you wish. I also thought it would be helpful to wear with my winter coat which had lost the top button — I would wear it with the point down in the middle in front. However, before I could do that, I got a new winter coat so that’s no longer an issue. Anyway, this is something that can be worn as a way to keep warm outside or inside, so that’s why I like it.

My First Möbius
Project: My First Möbius
Pattern: Jacky’s Birthday Moebius Cowl by Diane L. Augustin
Yarn: Tahki Yarns Pixie in the 003 colorway, 1.22 skeins (85.4 yards)
Needles: US 11
Date started: December 27, 2014
Date completed: December 27, 2014

This one had to be done, and here’s why. One of my friends from knit group hosted a pre-Christmas gathering at her home. If we cared to, we could wrap up some knitting-related gift and have an exchange at the party. I went to my LYS and bought a skein of yarn, and of course I felt totally smug because it was yarn I could buy and not have to count the yardage because I wasn’t keeping it. It as an excuse for me to go yarn shopping. How cool is that?

What I failed to consider, however, was that I might get some yarn in exchange. Which I did. Two balls of Takhi Yarns Pixie. It’s bulky yarn with only 75 yards per ball, so I figured I could make something out of it before the end of the year. I found this pattern in one of my knitting pattern-a-day calendars. I had never knit a möbius before, at least not on purpose, so I wanted to give it a try.

I had a hard time with the cast on at first, but eventually I got it. It was kind of cool to make. It takes a long circular needle which ends up being coiled, so it seems like you are knitting two rounds for every round, but you aren’t. Here is what it looks like.

Today I'm learning möbius knitting.

I’m happy with how it turned out. This isn’t really an accessory that can be used to keep warm, but it will still be fun to wear.

But that’s not all.

I started knitting a baby gift for a colleague whose wife is pregnant. I’m pretty sure he doesn’t even know about this blog, but I’m not going to post anything about it here just in case.

And finally, I still have a bit more knitting time available to me over the holidays, even after I finished these two projects. Lookie what I did!

Hexipuffs

Hexipuffs! Twelve of them!! I think that’s more than I made the rest of the year. I made maybe four of five of these on New Year’s Eve itself. Of course, now that we are in a new year, and I started another challenge (the Hat Trick, more on that later), I have put my hexipuffing supplies away.

And with that, on to my knitting totals of the year. I don’t know how much yarn exactly each hexipuff uses, but I think I remember the designer saying each takes about 10 yards of yarn, so I’m going with that. Thus, I was able to add 120 yards of yarn right there at the end of the year. That brings my total yards knit to 11,861.8. Do you know how much that really is? 6.7 miles of yarn!! As to how much I acquired, adding in the 140 yards of Takhi Yarns Pixie I got (the last to go into my stash) I acquired 11,213 yards of yarn. Doing the math, I knit 106% of the yards I acquired. I’m in the black for the year!!

I enjoyed keeping track of how much I knit and how much I took in. It really got me thinking of what yarn I have and what I can use. I will be doing the same challenge in 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
