Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Finally, What I’ve Been Working On

Posted by Andi on December 27, 2014

I hadn’t posted much about my knitting progress until I finished my Jozi socks because what I had been working on was mostly Christmas presents. The presents have been given, so now I can post about them without spoiling any surprises.

Bigger on the Inside
Pattern: Bigger on the Inside by Kate Atherley
Yarn: The Loopy Ewe Solid Series in Cobalt, 2.38 skeins (523.6 yards)
Needles: US 3
Date started: November 2, 2014
Date completed: December 22, 2014

This didn’t take nearly as long as the date completed suggests. I actually finished knitting it on November 30, I just didn’t get around to blocking it for a few weeks. This was part of Tim’s sister’s present. We got her some Doctor Who t-shirts, and I made her a Doctor Who shawl. I tried to find yarn that was as close to TARDIS blue as possible. This picture doesn’t show the yarn color correctly, but we were in a rush to take pictures and wrap the gift so I didn’t have time to find better lighting.

Here is a close up of the lace and TARDISes.

Bigger on the Inside

You may notice that this photo is taken of the wrong side of the shawl. I didn’t even notice that Tim was holding it backward until the shawl was already wrapped, so there was no chance to go back and take another picture.

This shawl has an interesting construction. The lace portion is knit first, and the bottom is actually the side of the shawl. Once that is done, the work is turned and you pick up over 300 stitches to start the TARDIS section. I had to wake up early on a Sunday morning, have a cup of coffee, and work on that part in silence. Once I picked up all the stitches the rest was cake.

Neapolitan Socks
Patterns: Vanilla Latte socks by Virginia Rose-Jeanes and OMG Heel Socks by Megan Williams
Yarn: Patons Kroy Socks 4 Ply in Brown Rose Marl, 1.16 skeins (192.6 yards)
Needles: US 0
Date started: December 1, 2014
Date completed: December 14, 2014

Originally the shawl was the only Christmas gift I was going to knit, but I decided Thanksgiving weekend to make socks for Tim’s mom. We found the yarn on Black Friday. I had been hearing lots of good things about Patons Kroy, how well the yarn wears, so I hoped they would make a good gift.

Normally, when I use self-striping or variegated yarns I don’t care if the socks match exactly. To me it’s part of the fun of having hand knit socks. But I know not everyone holds that view, and because these were for a gift I decided to try to get them to match. I used the OMG heel because all of the shaping is under the foot. In order for there to be some additional interest in the sock I used the stitch pattern from the Vanilla Latte socks. The stripes came out pretty close. It’s not perfectly exact, but Tim and I hoped his mom would think they were close enough. I really like how they turned out. I may have to buy some Patons Kroy to make some socks for myself!

This year I had the right balance of gift knitting. I made some gifts, but they weren’t the sort of things that I had to rush to finish. There was no stress over knitting too many gifts and not having enough time. I had plenty of time to get these done.

One Response to “Finally, What I’ve Been Working On”

  1. […] Finally, What I’ve Been Working On […]

Leave a Reply

 
