Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Whirlwind

Posted by Andi on November 8, 2014

Whirlwind
Pattern: Whirlwind by Cecily Glowik MacDonald
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran in 300007, 9.56 skeins
Needles: US 10.5
Date started: September 21, 2014
Date completed: November 2, 2014

I was inspired to knit this sweater because the Puck This! group on Ravelry is currently doing a cozy cardigan KAL. Many of the women are making Snowbird, but I didn’t have the right yarn for that. I wanted to make something with this yarn since I already had a sweater’s quantity. A member of my knit group gave it to me a while back, and I hadn’t made anything with it yet. So I started looking for cozy cardigan patterns that would work with this yarn, and I stumbled upon Whirlwind. It was a new pattern (I guess it still is technically), so I am excited to be one of the first ones to knit it.

This was a pretty easy knit. It’s mostly stockinette. The cable in the back pulls in a bit, so there is no need for waist shaping. Easy peasy! This would be a great pattern for a first sweater project. The “hardest” part was picking up for the collar/button band (if you use a button). Although the pattern tells you how many stitches to pick up, it’s not as if there is any shaping or anything, so I just picked up the number of stitches that looked best to me. That was the only modification I made.

Whirlwind

The pattern has an optional single button hole, which I didn’t use. I had planned on using a button I got at Michigan Fiber Festival in 2013, but ditched that plan for several reasons. First, the button is really pretty and I want it to be the focal point of whatever garment I am wearing. I envisioned a single button cardigan where the button was near the top by the collar. This button was down lower, so I didn’t think the button would get the attention I wanted it to get. Second, it was going to take me a while to figure out how to alter the button hole to fit the button. The button is larger than the pattern calls for, so the button hole in the pattern wasn’t going to be adequate. Third, I remembered I won this great shawl pin (the one in the picture) from Knitter’s Pride, and I thought it would be perfect. So there you go!

I mostly knit accessories, so this has been a banner year for me. This is the fourth garment I knit this year! It will probably be the last. The projects I currently have on the needles are accessories, and everything else I plan to knit in the near future are also either accessories or for use in the home. But still, four garments!! Three for me!!

This sweater used 956 yards of yarn from my stash. Yay! That now brings me to 9,823.5 yards knit in 2014. I have purchased 9.301 yards, so I’ve knit 106% of the total yards purchased. Oh, wait. I just ordered another skein of yarn. I haven’t added it to the total yet because I haven’t received it yet. I still think I will be in the black, so I don’t care!!

Leave a Reply

 
