Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Come Along, Pond

Posted by Andi on October 11, 2014

Come Along Pond Socks
Pattern: Come Along Pond Socks (Doctor Who Inspired) by C.C. Almon
Yarn: Pandia’s Jewels Snug in Come Along Pond, .67 skeins
Needle: US 1.5
Date started: September 1, 2014
Date completed: September 27, 2014

Inspired by Amy Pond, these socks are from the second month of the Doctor Who Companions Sock Club from Pandia’s Jewels and C.C. Almon. The are knit from the toe up, and have both cables and lace. The socks are mirror images of each other, and the cable runs up the outside of each foot.

Come Along Pond Socks

The rest of the sock is supposed to be lace.

Come Along Pond Socks

But I messed it up.

Since the socks are knit from the toe up, you only do the pattern for half the sock, as you do stockinette stitch for the bottom of the foot. After you finish the heel you go all the way around the leg. The pattern for the first installment of the club also had a cable up the outside of the foot, but when you started the leg it had two cables, one on the outside and one on the inside of the leg. You just knit the same stitch pattern twice around the leg.

Instead of reading this new pattern closely, I assumed it was the same thing. When I finished the first sock it had two cables, one on the outside and one on the inside, and the rest of it was lace. I didn’t start looking really closely at the pattern until I had already started the toe of the second sock. There was an extra chart for the right sock, and I wanted to see in advance what was different. That was when I realized I made a mistake with the first sock. It would only supposed to have one cable, the one on the outside of the foot. The lace was supposed to be repeated throughout. I had two cables. What to do?

I considered ripping back the leg of the first sock and doing the pattern correctly, but then I decided not to for several reasons.

1. I liked the cable part better than the lace part, so a sock with more cables was fine with me.
2. I was about to travel for several days, and I wanted to be at the beginning of a sock when I left so I could just work on one and not worry about cutting the yarn, weaving in ends, or anything like that. My plan was to start the toe of the second sock, and not start the stitch pattern for the foot until I had left. Ripping back the first sock would have messed that up because I didn’t have time to reknit the entire leg before my trip.
3. I’m doing the who Stashdown yards in/yards out thing, and I didn’t want to knit all those yards twice. Besides, see reason 1.

Seriously, if I didn’t like how it looked I would have ripped back and figured out another project for my trip. But I did like how it looked so I left it that way. The second cable isn’t a mistake, it’s a design element!

One Response to “Come Along, Pond”

  1. Mckinley said

    Excellent web site. Lots of useful information here.
    I’m sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thanks on your effort!

Leave a Reply

 
