Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

My Trip in Fiber Part 2: Yards Out

Posted by Andi on August 30, 2014

The great thing about road trips is all of the knitting time that’s available, provided you aren’t driving. Between drive time and the time we spent sitting around chatting with family I had plenty of knitting time, and I was able to complete two projects and start a third.

Blueberry Hill Cowl
Pattern: Pashmina Cowl by Joelle Hoverson from the book Last-Minute Knitted Gifts
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport in Blueberry Hill, 1.26 skeins
Needles: US 5
Date started: July 27, 2014
Date completed: August 13, 2014

I finished this in the car on the first day, I believe somewhere in Eastern Ohio. I wasn’t planning on making this at this time. I started this project a few weeks ago when I was going to the Goodwill in West Loop with one of my friends from knit group, and needed an easy project for the train ride. I think the only other project I had going on at the time was the sweater for my cousin’s son, and that was going to be a pain on public transportation. So I started this that day instead.

The yarn came from a yarn store in Indiana that has since closed. The colorway was made specifically for that store, in reference to the Blueberry Festival held every year there (Plymouth, IN). I still have .74 of a skein left. I wonder if I can make some small wrist warmers to go with it or something.

I love how the colors stripe and pool. It reminds me of the reflection of the sky in water. Perhaps it will be a nice pick-me-up on a drab winter day.

This next project I started and completed on the trip.

Spoilers Socks
Pattern: Spoilers Socks (Doctor Who Inspired) by C.C. Almon
Yarn: Pandia’s Jewels Snug in Spoilers, .6 skeins
Needles: US 1.5
Date started: August 13, 2014
Date completed: August 19, 2014

This must be the fastest I ever knit a pair of socks. The yarn and pattern came from the Doctor Who Companion Sock Club – this was the first installment. This was such a perfect project for this trip because it was easy to memorize the pattern, so I didn’t have to keep turning and looking at it. I started the toe on the first sock on the first night of our trip in a hotel room in Pittsburgh, PA. Because it was so easy I was able to easily knit on it in the car or while talking to family. I finished the first sock while on a bus tour of Gettysburg.

Finished 1st Spoiler sock while touring Gettysburg #operationsockdrawer

I was even able to work on it during a tour of Hershey, at least until I got to the heel. I finished the sock after we were headed back home, while we were on I-80 somewhere in Clearfield County, PA. It was raining at the time.

Road trip socks. Cast on in a hotel room I'm Pittsburgh, wove in ends on I-80 in Clearfield County, PA. #operationsockdrawer

Here is a close up of the cable.

Spoilers Socks

I love how these socks turned out. I can’t wait to wear them. Too bad it’s still summer! There is plenty of yarn left over for hexipuffs, so you will probably be seeing some of those in the near future.

Even though I finished two projects during this trip, the yards knit for these projects was smaller than the number of yards I purchased on the trip. The Blueberry Hill cowl used 252 yards, and the Spoilers Socks used 277.2 yards. With those completed, I’m back to having knit 90.1% of the total yards I purchased so far this year. Not bad, but since then I’ve gotten the next skein of yarn for the sock club.

That’s okay, though, because I started another project on my trip. I’m working on the Vertex Cardigan. I’m hoping to finish it during this long holiday weekend, but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

 
