Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

My Trip in Fiber Part 1: Yards In

Posted by Andi on August 23, 2014

My mom, Tim, and I recently took a road trip to Harrisburg, PA for our family reunion. We stopped for the night in Pittsburgh on the way there, and Port Clinton, OH on the way back. I was thinking about how I was going to post about the trip. I decided I’m going to do two posts that are fiber related, and if I decide I want to post about other parts of the trip (or if you tell me you want more details) I will go into that later.

This post is about the yarn I bought on the trip. Before we left I had asked the Puck This! group on Ravelry about yarn stores in the Harrisburg/Hershey area, and got several recommendations. I didn’t know if I was going to be able to get to any of the shops. I missed on opportunity early on — one shop was in between Harrisburg and Gettysburg and I thought we could stop at the shop on the way back, but we spent too long at Gettysburg and didn’t get to that.

It wasn’t until our last full day in Harrisburg that I got to buy some yarn. We went to Hershey early in the day and ate lunch there, and had the second half of the day to do something else. We decided to go yarn shopping. There were two shops that were recommended to me that were near Lancaster, which if I recall correctly was about 30 minutes from Hershey. One was north of Lancaster, and one was south of Lancaster. Since Hershey is north of Lancaster, we decided to go to that one.

The shop is called Flying Fibers, and it’s in Landisville, PA. It is a lovely shop. I wanted to get some local yarn or yarn I couldn’t easily get at any of the shops I frequent in the Chicago area. I ended up getting two skeins of yarn.

Wandering Creativity Merino/Bamboo/Nylon

This is a skein of Wandering Creativity merino/bamboo/nylon yarn. I believe this yarn is dyed by a shop employee or someone who lives in that town. I almost bought a different colorway, but then saw this skein tucked behind another one, so I got this one. I hope this gets my desire for Regia Fluormania out of my system. This skein doesn’t have fluorescent colors, but it is green and yellow, which are the colors in the skein of Fluormania I want. Between a new skein of green and yellow yarn and the skein of Dramatic Knits yarn I bought a couple of weeks ago, I should be good. Anyway, there are approximately 459 yards in the skein, so I should be able to make a variety of different things with it.

I didn’t stop there.

Wensleydale Longwool Sheepshop DK

This is a skein of Wnsleydale Longwool Sheepshop DK, 257 yards. I had a hard time choosing a color. At first I was walking around the shop with a peacock blue sort of color, and then I realized I already have a skein of yarn in that color. I thought about buying a couple of skeins and making a two-color project because there was a lime green skein and a coral skein, both of which I really liked, but didn’t want to make full projects with them. In the end I chose this skein. The color isn’t perfect in the photo. It’s a periwinkle blue color, which used to be one of my favorite crayons for the 64 pack. I’ve never had yarn in this color. I think I already chose a pattern for it — the Three Way Stop Hat by Brittany Wilson. They had this yarn in other weights too, and I may see if I can order some of I really enjoy knitting with this skein.

So, if you are keeping track, I added 716 yards of yarn to my stash from these purchases. That comes to a total of 7,292 yards purchased so far this year. Not including the projects I completed on the trip (which I will include in the next post) I had knit 6,044.5 yards, which is 82.9% of the yards I purchased. Not good! Since then I have completed two projects, started another one, but also got another skein of yarn. No more buying yarn for a long time for me!

One Response to “My Trip in Fiber Part 1: Yards In”

  1. […] My Trip in Fiber Part 1: Yards In […]

Leave a Reply

 
