Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Ballinagree

Posted by Andi on August 21, 2014

Ballinagree
Pattern: Ballinagree by Carol Feller, from the book Contemporary Irish Knits
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool Ease Solids in Gray Heather, 2.88 skeins
Needles: US 6
Date started: June 12, 2014
Date completed: August 11, 2014

This is a sweater I knit for my cousin’s son. I was a little concerned about sizing because he’s 3.5 years old, but tall for his age. I decided to knit the size recommended for a 4-year-old. I was close on gauge, but it was going to be a touch bigger, which I thought was okay. I would rather it be too big and he has to grow into it then for it to be too small.

The sweater is made from the bottom up, adding the sleeves with the yoke. Basically you knit the body of the sweater to the underarms, then knit each sleeve and add them to the yoke. I thought I wasn’t going to finish on time, but I finished a whole sleeve, part of the other sleeve, the yoke in the collar in just a few days. I had to actually take a day away from knitting because my wrists hurt. But I finished it just in time!!

I brought it to our family reunion and gave it to my cousin and his wife last week. They seemed to love it.

This book has so many wonderful patterns. I’m sure I will knit more of them.

After buying so much yarn the week before I completed this sweater, it was nice to add this yardage to my “yards out” calculation. This sweater took 567.4 yards of yarn, bringing my total knit (as of the time I completed the sweater) to 6,044.5 yards. I had purchased (at the time I finished the sweater) 6,576 yards of yarn, so I had knit 91.9% of the yards I had purchased. Notice this is all past tense. Since I finished this sweater I’ve completed two more projects and, um, bought more yarn. I will be posting about that later this week.

Leave a Reply

 
