Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Electric Blue Anklets

Posted by Andi on July 5, 2014

Electric Blue Anklets
Pattern: Slip Stitch Heel Basic Socks by Wendy H. Johnson, incorporating Barely There Socks by Jill L. Schaefer
Yarn: Fiber Optic Yarns Foot Notes in Sapphire Batik, .49 skein
Needles: US 1
Date started: June 14, 2014
Date completed: July 4, 2014

I got so much out of this one skein of sock yarn. First, I made Tim a new pair of gloves. Then I made a hexipuff. I still had a lot of yarn left over, so I figured I could make some anklets.

After knitting the first sock I got nervous that I wouldn’t have enough yarn left, so I weighed the first sock and the amount of yarn left over. The leftover yarn weighed more than the sock, barely, so I continued on. Even though I knew I had enough yarn by weight, as I got toward the end of the second stock I got nervous that it wouldn’t be enough. But it was fine. There is enough left over to make another hexipuff, but then this skein will be totally used up.

These socks used 205.8 yards of fingering weight yarn, bringing my total yardage this year to 5,131.5 yards. This includes a project I haven’t posted about yet, but it’s part of a swap package and I won’t be able to post about it until after my swapee receives her box. Now I’ve knit 133% of the yardage I have purchased so far this year. This is good, because the first installment of my yarn club should be arriving in a couple of weeks, and that will drive the percentage down. I must keep knitting!

Leave a Reply

 
