Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Cowl Neck Vest

Posted by Andi on June 21, 2014

Cowl Neck Vest
Pattern: Cowl Neck Vest by Cecily Glowik MacDonald, from the book Knit Red: Stitching for Women’s Heart Health by Laura Zander
Yarn: Dream In Color Classy, 3.56 skeins (yarn was purchased at the Dream In Color warehouse sale and didn’t have labels, so I don’t know the color)
Needles: US 9 and 10
Date started: March 2014
Date completed: June 14, 2014

I was hoping to finish this in time for the Geeky Girls Knit March, April, May sweater KAL, but I just missed out. Oh well.

I had been wanting to knit this sweater for a while. I even bought some long sleeved t-shirts that I thought would look great with it a while back. At least I already have something to wear with it.

My favorite part of the sweater is the buttons. I almost didn’t get these buttons. My mom came with me to the fabric store to help me pick them out. I saw these buttons, but I only saw six and I needed 10. A bit later my mom held these buttons up and asked if I liked them. I said yes, but that there weren’t enough. Then I realized she was standing in a different spot than where I found these buttons. They were in two different places, and it turned out there were more than enough. There was no more looking after that.

Finishing a cardigan #knitting

This is my first cardigan with buttons. I had no experience with sewing buttons to yarn, so my mom helped me a bit. I sewed all but the first button on. They are all sturdy and look fine.

This yarn had been in my stash for a long time. I got it at the Dream In Color warehouse sale. They had put five skeins in a package and were selling it all together for $50, which is very cheap. I bought it in the summer of 2010. I still have about 1.5 skeins left, so I might make a hat or cowl or something. This project used 890 yards of yarn, and right now my yards out/yards in total is 122%! I have finally knit more than I have bought this year! The timing couldn’t be better. I just joined a sock club and will be getting three skeins of sock yarn in the coming months.

3 Responses to “Cowl Neck Vest”

  1. tricotreat said

    This kicks some serious a$$ and I will be making it. F.Y. I.

  2. […] Speaking of enhancement, I won another podcast prize, this time from the Dramatic Knits podcast for their June Race to the Finished Object thread (for finishing my Cowl Neck Vest. […]

Leave a Reply

 
