Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Splish Splash

Posted by Andi on June 13, 2014

For years we’ve been buying those plastic poofy things to use in the shower, but for a while now they have been bothering me. They work great, but I hate all that plastic that ends up being thrown out. So I decided I was going to knit something for us to use in the bath. At first I was going to knit some scrubbies, but I heard they never quite dry and can get musty. Then I turned my attention to bath mitts.

Little Fishy Bath Mitt
Pattern: Little Fishy Bath Mitt by Alison Ziegler
Yarn: Lily Sugar’n Cream in Warm Brown (.33 skein) and Sunshine (.27 skein)
Needles: US 8
Date started: May 27, 2014
Date completed: June 8, 2014

I made this one for Tim. I left the eyes off because Tim thought it was creepy, and the cuff is kind of tight so I thought sewing on the eyes would be more difficult than I wanted to deal with.

I made this one for myself.

Sunspot Bath Mitt
Pattern: Hannah’s Gifft Bag/Bath Mitt by Marlene Sigel
Yarn: Lily Sugar’n Cream in Warm Brown (.36 skein) and Sunshine (.42 skein)
Needles: US 8
Date started: June 8, 2014
Date completed: June 10, 3014

This can be used as a bath mitt, but the photo on the pattern shows it as a gift back with soap. Here is what it would look like as a gift bag.

Sunspot Bath Mitt

I’m using the bow to hang it from our shower caddy.

The plan was for Tim to use the fish and me to use the other bath mitt to see how we like them. Then we will wash them and switch. After using them a couple of times, Tim likes the fish, but I’m still getting used to my bath mitt. The bath mitt is wide and my hand moves around in it, so I end up taking it off my hand and using it as a wash cloth. Perhaps I will get used to it, but if not I might as well just knit wash cloths. I have a couple more bath mitt patterns I might try out as well. I will continue to knit whichever mitts we like using.

The nice thing about both of these projects is that they don’t use a lot of yarn. I used the same skeins to make both, and still have enough yarn left over to make another fish.

Leave a Reply

 
