Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Sallah Cowl

Posted by Andi on April 30, 2014

Sallah Cowl
Pattern: Sallah Cowl by Bristol Ivy
Yarn: Leading Men Fiber Arts Spotlight in Pipeline, .73 skeins
Needles: US 5 and US 10
Date started: April 17, 2014
Date completed: April 27, 2014

I had to knit this yarn up during the playoffs since it’s in Blackhawks colors.

This was a simple but interesting knit. Two needle sizes are used, alternating rows. This was the first project I have done in which my new interchangeable needle set came in handy. I put a size 5 tip on one end and a size 10 tip on the other end so I wouldn’t have to change needles every other row. It was great! The other great thing about the interchangeable set is that I was using the size 10 tips on another project, but I was able to take it off and put one of the end things on that cable so I could use the tip on this project. Perfect! How did I not get interchangeable needles a long time ago?

Now for the use of stash update. I bought this yarn at YarnCon earlier this month, so it was new yarn. The pattern is available for free on Knitty.com, so I didn’t already own the pattern. I used 292 yards of this yarn, so I have now knit 88.5% of the yardage I have purchased so far this year.

So now I’ve finished both of my playoff projects, and tonight is the last night of the first round. I even made a hat in between! I will be working on my Cowl Neck Vest through the rest of the playoffs.

2 Responses to “Sallah Cowl”

  1. […] top left, I used the yarn from my Safari Socks, the yarn from my Kai-Mei socks, the yarn from my Sallah Cowl, and the yarn from the Shallows infinity scarf I made for a charity auction. One more hexipuff and […]

  2. […] Leading Men Fiber Arts. I like the skein of Leading Men Fiber Arts yarn I’ve used (to make my Sallah Cowl), and wanted more. Oh, I got […]

Leave a Reply

 
