Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Fields of Malachite

Posted by Andi on April 21, 2014

Fields of Malachite
Pattern: Fields of Malachite by Anna Dalvi
Yarn: madelinetosh tosh sock in Laurel, 1 skein
Needles: US 6
Date started: April 6, 2014
Date completed: April 20, 2014

This was a really quick knit. I think I waited as many days to block it as it took me to knit it. This pattern would be a fantastic first lacy shawl pattern for a beginning knitter. The chart was easy to read and it wasn’t complicated but still an interesting knit. And I seriously want to knit every pattern in the book this pattern is in — Ancient Egypt in Lace and Color by Anna Dalvi. The only thing I have to decide is whether I want to use the colors called for in each pattern. This one I figured had to be green, since malachite is green.

This was my first time using tosh sock. I initially had a cowl pattern in mind for this yarn, but I figured a shawl called Fields of Malachite would have to be green, and this was the green yarn I had that was closest in color to actual malachite. As I got toward the end I was really worried I would run out of yarn. It is expensive yarn, and I didn’t want to buy a whole skein for a few rows worth of yarn. In the end it wasn’t necessary — there’s actually enough to make a hexipuff or two! But I figured if I did have to buy more yarn I could still make the cowl. Oh well, I have plenty of other yarn.

I’m keeping track of how many yards of yarn I purchase this year, and how much yarn I knit up. I’m hoping I knit more yarn than I buy. After this project, 71.7% of the yardage I have bought since the beginning of the year. This was not a skein I bought this year. I had this yarn in my stash for about 11 months, which is pretty new as far as my stash goes.

One Response to “Fields of Malachite”

  1. […] First, I won a prize from the A Homespun House podcast’s Cooperative Press KAL (when I made my Fields of Malachite shawl). […]

Leave a Reply

 
