Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Medal Earned

Posted by Andi on February 16, 2014

Every two years, during the Olympics, I participate in the Ravellenic Games. The point is to complete a project that will challenge you between the time of the Opening Ceremonies and the Closing Ceremonies. Because of my schedule I was afraid I wasn’t going to be able to participate this year. However, I managed to finish this scarf ahead of schedule, which gave me a small amount of time to work on a project. I cast on last Saturday, and finished my project this morning.

Barely There Socks
Pattern: Barely There Socks by Jill L. Schaefer
Yarn: Regia Design Line Kaffe Fassett, colorway 4258, 1 skein
Needles: US 1
Date started: February 8, 2014
Date completed: February 16, 2014

I love them! There are so many benefits to these socks. First, it’s a fast knit. I knit them top-down, and I only knit five rows before starting the heel flap. It took me slightly longer to knit this pair of socks than it would take me to knit one mid-calf sock. Over the 8 days it took me to knit these socks, I only sat and knit them a handful of times. I think I knit on four separate days. Second, it takes a small amount of yarn. I used one skein of Regia, which is a small skein — it would take two skeins of this yarn to make a pair of mid-calf socks. I wear a size 8 shoe, and I made these socks with less than 250 yards of yarn. I could use leftovers! I think there might be enough yarn left over from Tim’s gloves to make a pair of these socks for myself!

Leave a Reply

 
