Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Last Minute Birthday Scarf

Posted by Andi on February 6, 2014

Last Friday I attended a friend’s birthday party. I realized Thursday afternoon that I didn’t have a gift for my friend. I did what most knitters would do — I looked through my stash to see if there was something I could start and complete Thursday night. I found some bulky yarn, and since it’s been a very cold winter here in the Chicago area, I decided to make my friend a scarf.

Black Birthday Scarf
Project: Black Birthday Scarf
Pattern: Two-hour Knit Scarf #30167 by Lion Brand Yarn
Yarn: Lion Brand Homespun in Black, 1 skein
Needles: US 19
Date started: January 30, 2014
Date completed: January 30, 2014

I had about seven minutes to spare, or else I would have completed it on January 31. Oh, and two hours is a lie. It took me more than three hours.

This was the first time I knit with size 19 needles in years, and it felt like I was knitting with tree trunks. It took a long time to get used to it.

I’m happy to report that my friend really liked the scarf, and she has been wearing it regularly.

Leave a Reply

 
