Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

First FO of 2014

Posted by Andi on January 26, 2014

Normally on January 1, while watching the Winter Classic, I would be casting on my first hat in my attempt at the Puck This! hat trick. I decided to forego the hat trick this year for several reasons. First, in going through all of my knit accessories I realized I have a ton of hats, many of which I don’t wear. Do I need more? Second, all the hats I had in mind would have required me to purchase the patterns and appropriate yarn, and since I’m trying to use what I have in 2014 as much as possible, and in light of the fact that I have a gazillion hats already, I really didn’t need to purchase patterns and yarn for yet more hats. And third, I didn’t know if I would have time in January to knit three hats, and I would be annoyed with myself if I didn’t pull it off.

With all that in mind, this is what I cast on while watching the Winter Classic:

Plot Twist Shell
Pattern: Plot Twist Shell by Amy Kaspar
Yarn: Cascade Eco+ in Peony Pink, 1 skein
Needles: US 10
Date started: January 1, 2014
Date completed: January 17, 2014

Yes, this shell only required one skein of Eco+ for my size, but it used almost the whole skein. I really thought I was going to run out of yarn before binding off. I actually started knitting faster and realized it was out of hope that the faster I knit the less likely it would be that I would run out of yarn. Yeah, like that’s logical. Anyway, it all worked out.

The pattern was a free pattern I received from a local yarn store during the Chicagoland Yarn Crawl last summer. For those of you reading who aren’t from the Chicago area, around the time of Stitches Midwest the local yarn stores in the Chicago area host a yarn crawl. Each store has a free pattern, and most stores have 10% off. There are also chances to win gift baskets at the participating stores, and additional prizes if you visit a certain number of stores. I went to five stores, but forgot to take the free pattern at one of them. Anyway, this is one of the patterns I got.

What I like about this is the various ways I can wear it. I can wear it with a long sleeved shirt as you can see in the picture. I can wear it sleeveless. I can also wear it under a jacket. I think I will get a lot of use out of it.

Leave a Reply

 
