Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Resolutions, 2014 Edition

Posted by Andi on January 2, 2014

I have several new year’s resolutions this year, and I can break them down into three categories: exercise, knitting, and life.

Exercise

I haven’t discussed exercise much on this blog, but it’s something I’ve tried, with various levels of success, to do more frequently last year. I started by doing strength exercises, and then I started running. After a while, probably because I was training for my first 5k, I skipped other forms of exercise in favor of running only. That became the habit, so when it’s been too snowy or icy to run, I’ve not done exercise. In order to find a good balance and continue moving forward with my goals, I resolve to do the following:

1. Run 300 miles. I ran 116 miles during the approximately six months of running I did in 2013. Some of that is walking because I sometimes do intervals. I was able to do longer distances in later months than I did in earlier months, so I think if I run the whole year 300 miles should be possible.

2. Exercise at least three days a week, no matter what. Most weeks I hope to exercise more than three days, but I think in order to really solidify exercise as a habit I have to make sure I exercise regularly during really busy weeks. Next week will be a good test as I will be traveling a lot and won’t have a lot of time. I won’t want to wake up earlier than necessary because I’m going to be tired. I need to find ways to work exercise into my schedule during weeks like that. I’m sure I will feel better if I do.

Knitting

1. Finally make the amigurumi vegetables. I’ve had the yarn for a while. It’s time.

2. Use more stash yarn. Some yarns have been in my stash for a long time. I need to start using them or get rid of them. I spent some time matching patterns with yarns. A couple of months ago I frogged some UFOs to salvage the yarn, and got rid of some nasty yarn. This serves two purposes. First, it will help me be more frugal (see below). Second, I vowed my stash would fit in the two sets of drawers I have, and guess what, it could now fill up a third. That’s ridiculous. I need my yarn to take up less space.

3. It’s not really knitting, but I want to develop my crochet skills.

4. Start making hexipuffs again. I haven’t made a hexipuff in months. I want to make at least 5 a month. It really shouldn’t be difficult.

Life

1. Read 12 books. I want to start reading more. I have so many books I haven’t read, and I still want to read them. It’s time to get started. There are three books I’m currently reading, but I’m not very far into any of them, so they will all count toward the goal.

2. Be more frugal. I’m pretty good at managing finances, but there is probably more waste in there than I would like. Trim the fat, so to speak. I want to get the biggest bang for my buck and save the rest. One part of that, as mentioned above, is knitting from my stash. I bought those yarns because I like them. They aren’t there for decoration, they are there for me to use. It’s time to use them. That’s not to say I won’t buy any yarn this year, but I’m going to be pickier about it.

So that’s it. I think that is manageable.

One Response to “Resolutions, 2014 Edition”

  1. […] my hexipuff productivity dropped significantly. Remember when I said I wanted to <a href="https://knitstantgratification.wordpress.com/2014/01/02/resolutions-2014-edition/"knit five hexipuffs a month this year? Before last weekend I had only knit […]

Leave a Reply

 
