Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

A bright orange hat for the new year

Posted by Andi on January 1, 2014

I had put the orange hat I was making for Tim aside for quite a while so that I could complete some gifts and other projects. I finally turned back to it a few days ago, and I managed to finish it before midnight, making it my last FO of 2013.

Honeycomb cable reversible hat
Pattern: Honeycomb cable reversible hat by Dove Knits
Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Encore Worsted in color 479
Needles: US 6
Date started: October 13, 2013
Date completed: December 31, 2013

This hat has an interesting construction. To explain fully, here is a picture of the reverse side.

Honeycomb cable reversible hat

It starts as a bottom up hat, with the ribbed cuff on the reverse side. The main body part of the hat is the cable part. You decrease like normal and have one hat. Then you pick up stitches around the cuff, knitting in the opposite direction of the first hat. You start with the cabled cuff, then continue to the main part of the ribbed hat. The whole thing ends up egg shaped until you fold one side into the other.

For some reason I thought it was going to be a bit tight on Tim, but it fits him well. He hasn’t decided which side he prefers.

One Response to “A bright orange hat for the new year”

  1. […] you may recall, I also made an orange hat for Tim. The orange of Tim’s hat is much brighter than the orange hat I made myself. We haven’t […]

Leave a Reply

 
