Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

The first of the gifts

Posted by Andi on December 14, 2013

Although I haven’t posted much, I have actually been knitting. I’ve been working on charity knitting (almost finished). Much of what I have been knitting has been gifts, hence the lack of posts. Now for some proof. Look, I brought some yarn to a coffee shop today.

All I need in a snowy day #coffee #knitting

Some day, in a future post, you will see what this yarn became.

My mom’s birthday was a few days ago. Happy birthday, Mom! One of the gifts was for her, and since her birthday has passed, it means she has it, which means I can post it now!!

Conifer Shawl

Pattern: Conifer Shawl by Kate Gagnon Osborn
Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash in color 893, 1.68 skeins
Needles: US 8
Date started: November 23, 2013
Date completed: December 10, 2013

My mom’s birthday is so close to Christmas that, as I’m buying her gifts, I sometimes have a hard time deciding which should be her birthday present and which should be her Christmas present. It was a little easier this year. I thought this shawl would be festive, and that I should give it to her for her birthday so she has it available during the Christmas season.

The problem with this picture is that it’s hard to tell how big it is. It’s a bit bigger than a shawlette. It comes maybe halfway down my mom’s back and covers her shoulders. It definitely isn’t oversized.

I’m happy with how it turned out. As I was knitting it I wasn’t keen on the stitch pattern used on the top part, but once I blocked it I decided I like that part best.

Leave a Reply

 
