Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

The Year of Babies Continues

Posted by Andi on September 12, 2013

2013 isn’t the first year I’ve knit baby gifts for friends who were expecting bundles of joy, but it’s definitely the year that the largest number of friends of mine had children. Here is the third baby gift I made this year.

Apple Blossom Cardigan
Pattern: Apple Blossom Cardigan by Sarah Franklin
Yarn: Caron Simply Soft Solids in Red, .69 skein
Needles: US 9
Date started: July 2, 2013
Date completed: July 29, 2013

I finished it a while ago, but I had to wait to post it until my friends received it. My friends are big Blackhawks fans, hence the red sweater. I briefly considered making the sweater in red, black and white, but in the end I thought that would be tacky. Besides, I figured they would know why I made the sweater for their new daughter in red.

This pattern came from a pattern-a-day calendar that my mom got me for Christmas. There were two sizes that differed only by the yarn weight – the number of stitches didn’t change. I made the bigger size. For the most part, this was a fun pattern to knit. Actually, I take that back. It was a fun pattern to know for the whole part. What was a bit annoying was sewing down the picot edge. I didn’t mind sewing the picot edge around the neck or the sleeves, but the picot edge also goes all the way around the sweater. That took forever. When it came time to sew that part down I took it to knitting group and worked on it while talking with my friends, which made it less painful. I dreaded it so much that I almost eliminated the picot edge, but that’s what makes the sweater cute, so I kept it. I’m glad I did.

Leave a Reply

 
