Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Lollapalooza, Day 3, A Month Later

Posted by Andi on September 1, 2013

Finally. Only I would be posting about events that are a month old. At this point, I’m not even going to post about the Blackhawks Convention!

So, Day 3. Sunday was the day we didn’t do much research about, so we made our decisions as to who we would see early in the day on little information. The second half of the day was set.

First, we saw O’Brother.

O'Brother

After that we decided to see Palma Violets.

Palma Violets

Again, the sound at the Bud Light stage was awful, so even though I thought the band was good, at one point we left because the sound was awful.

Palma Violets

We wandered around a bit, and settled in to see Alex Clare, who we weren’t necessarily planning on seeing. I never really listened to him much, and I liked his set. It was different than I was expecting given the one song of his I knew. I would say that, after Ghost BC, this set was the surprise of the festival for me.

Must have been hot

AFter that, we went over to the other side of the park and found our spot for the rest of the day. We started with Tegan & Sara. So many people wanted to see them that we barely found enough room for our blanket. Eventually it thinned out after their set so we could spread out a bit more. They were very good, and Sara made it all the way through the set, unlike the first time they played Lolla when Sara couldn’t handle the heat (it was a lot hotter that day).

Tegan & Sara

Next was one of the bands I was most excited for: Alt-J. They sounded great, and was one of the highlights of the day for me.

Alt-J

Oh, and this was creepy.

Unicorn

For me, Grizzly Bear was a band I ended up seeing because I was parked on that side of the park. They were pretty good, though.

Grizzly Bear

I really enjoyed Beach House, though I don’t think Tim would say the same.

Beach House

Finally, The Cure. The last time I saw The Cure was at Coachella, and we didn’t get to see the whole set, so it was great to see the whole set this time.

The Cure

They may be older, but they sounds as good as ever.

The Cure

Overall, it was a great weekend. To see all of the pictures (I only posted a handful over the three posts) click here.

Leave a Reply

 
