Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Stockholm Scarf

Posted by Andi on April 27, 2013

Stockholm Scarf
Pattern: Stockholm Scarf by knittedblissJC
Yarn: Michell & CIA Indiecita DK, 4.84 skeins
Needles: US 9
Date started: March 22, 2013
Date completed: April 17, 2013

This cowl/infinity scarf/whatever you want to call it is as soft as a cloud. It is quite possible the softest yarn I own. The yarn is undyed alpaca yarn that a member of my knit group brought back from a trip to Peru.

This pattern is written to be knit flat. I knit it in the round, and got messed up at first. I went through Ravelry comments for the pattern and found those who had already figured out how to knit it in the round. It meant casting on two fewer stitches than I thought, and swapping two rows. Thankfully I had only knit four rounds before I realized there was a problem.

The great thing about this pattern is that it is reversible. I have other cowls where, if they hang open a bit in front, exposing the wrong side, it looks weird. Because this one is reversible it doesn’t matter if someone can see the wrong side because it looks exactly the same. I never thought of that. The only other cowls I’ve seen where that works were knit in the round and are giant tubes. This is great.

Leave a Reply

 
