Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

YarnCon 2013

Posted by Andi on April 19, 2013

Wow, I haven’t posted in quite a while. I have been very busy lately and, between work, vacation, and developing a new exercise program for myself, I haven’t had much time to blog. However, a lot has been happening, so here we go.

YarnCon was two weeks ago. It was a two-day event this year, and I went on Saturday morning. I got there before the doors opened, but not early enough to get one of the free goodie bags.

Normally when I go to an event like this I walk around and look at all the booths before finding anything. Usually I have a strict budget, so I want to make sure I’m getting what I really want. I don’t want to spend money on a few things, then find something I like more and not have the money for it. That was my plan for this year as well, however, I did buy one thing immediately. I always check out the Piddleloop booth to see my friend Jen. Even if I didn’t know her, I would still love the bags made by her and her sister. This year they had a handful of Hello Kitty bags. If you know me well, you know I love Hello Kitty. As a matter of fact, when I was in Las Vegas earlier that week I saw a fantastic Hello Kitty tote bag in a shop in New York New York, but didn’t buy it because I could not justify spending $74 on a tote bag. So I was able to buy a much more reasonably priced Hello Kitty project bag! And really, can you have too many project bags? Isn’t it cute?

Hello Kitty Piddleloop Bag

I looked around the other booths for awhile and pondered my future purchases. I then listened to a talk by Susan Gibbs of Juniper Moon Farm. She discussed how she went from being a news producer to owning sheep, and starting a fiber CSA. It was so interesting, and even though it’s clearly very hard work, has me wanting to ditch everything and start that alpaca farm I want so badly. There was a booth next to where she was speaking that was selling copies of By Hand Magazine. It’s a fairly new magazine, and Susan Gibbs is the editor-in-chief. It’s great. It includes recipes, knitting patterns, carpentry, gardening, among other things. I love the two issues I bought, and plan to buy future issues.

Next, I bought yarn. There was so much beautiful yarn, that in order to narrow the possibilities down I decided that I was only going to buy yarn from vendors I haven’t bought yarn from before. That eliminated three vendors.

The first skein of yarn I bought was from The Wool Dispensary. I almost bought some of their yarn at the last YarnCon, but ultimately didn’t. I chose a skein of Useful Stimulant sock yarn in the color Badass Unicorn.

The Wool Dispensary Useful Stimulant

This is not a great photo. The yarn is brighter than it looks above. It was such a beautiful purple that as soon as I saw it I knew it was the skein I had to buy.

Next I went back to the magic and moonshine booth where there were so many skeins of beautiful colorful yarn, much of which was self-striping. The yarn that intrigued me most were the handkerchief trick yarn cakes. These were yarns with longer blocks of color. There were so many colors to choose from, but I ended up buying perhaps the least colorful skein they had.

magic and moonshine handkerchief trick

Guess why? Blackhawks colors, of course!!

There was so much more I wanted to buy, including a wire knit bracelet kit and felted earrings. I hope those vendors are there next year.

One Response to “YarnCon 2013”

  1. SoniaLMT said

    That purple is gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

 
