Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Fresco Leg Warmers Part 1 – Getting Started

Posted by Andi on February 26, 2013

Despite my silence, I’ve been getting a lot of knitting done. I’m almost finished with the Downton Abbey KAL gauntlets — I will probably block them tonight. I’ve made tremendous progress on my most recent baby blanket that I can’t really discuss here.

The other project I have been working on is the Fresco Leg Warmers by Pam Allen, from the book Knitted Gifts. A couple of weeks ago I started the ribbing for the bottom of the first leg warmer. Then, while on a business trip, I started working on the lace pattern. The lace looked weird, nothing at all like the photo. I looked and saw I was following the pattern correctly. So I looked at other projects on Ravelry to see if they looked right, and found in someone’s notes that the pattern had an error, and this kind soul linked to the correction on the publisher’s webpage. It turns out the pattern eliminated the work-one-row-even in between lace rows. I was glad I found the errata, but I was annoyed that the link wasn’t on the main Ravelry project page. I may send it in so that page can be updated. Seeing an errata link on the main project page has saved me a lot of trouble when knitting other patterns.

Anyway, I ripped back and started the lace pattern over again, and it looks so much better.

WIP: Fresco Leg Warmers

This is the very bottom of the first leg warmer, so I don’t think I will be finished with these any time soon. Part 2 might not show up for at least a month, if not longer.

2 Responses to “Fresco Leg Warmers Part 1 – Getting Started”

  1. Annah McDonald said

    Hi! I’m currently working on this pattern and I just the lace pattern but my first row didn’t work out right even though I followed the pattern. I have 75 sts and I worked through the repeat section 4 times and placed markers but when I got to the end I only had 6 sts left to finish the last 15 sts of the pattern. And I ended up with 17 sts between my markers b/c of the yo’s. I ripped it out and tried again but it came out the same. Could you explain how you did it?

    • Andi said

      After I started I saw that there is a mistake with the pattern. If you are on Ravelry check the pattern page, there should be a link to it. I had to rip mine back and start over.

Leave a Reply

 
