Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Mixed Stripe Baby Throw

Posted by Andi on February 3, 2013

Mixed Stripe Baby Throw
Pattern: Mixed Stripe Baby Throw by Lion Brand Yarn
Yarn: Caron Simply Soft Solids in Limelight (.48 skein), Pagoda (.29 skein), Soft Blue (.46 skeins), and White (.39 skein)
Needles: US 7
Date started: January 19, 2013
Date completed: February 2, 2013

This blanket is for a colleague who is expecting a little boy. I’m definitely not one of those “blue for boys, pink for girls” sort of people (I get annoyed that “baby yarn” is always in baby colors, as if there are certain colors that are okay for babies and certain colors that aren’t — that’s rubbish!) but I know some people are. I liked that I could include some baby blue in it, but other bright colors as well. It’s hard to tell from this picture, but the darker color is sort of a dark teal. I didn’t use the yarn called for by the pattern, but I kept the color scheme very close to what the colors in the pattern were. This was a quick and simple knit.

I was wondering what colors I would use if I were to make this for a little girl. The white can stay white. The baby blue would change to baby pink. The dark teal could probably be a magenta or violet. But what about that bright green? I would want a color that isn’t in the pink family. Maybe some sort of orange. I don’t know.

As soon as I bound off I started another baby blanket. I won’t be posting much about that one because it’s for a Ravelry friend. Although she now knows I’m making a blanket, I want what it looks like to be a surprise. I will not be creating a project page until after it is sent.

Wow, I’ve been prolific so far this year. This is my fifth finished object. Granted, nothing I made was particularly difficult, but still. The fact that I’ve been watching as many films as possible that have been nominated for major awards (such as the Oscars and Independent Spirit Awards) means I have plenty of TV time to knit.

Leave a Reply

 
