Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Tonight’s the night!

Posted by Andi on January 6, 2013

Downton Abbey, Series 3 premiers in the US tonight. And, just like many other knitters who love Downton Abbey, I’m going to take part in the Downton Abbey Mystery KAL with Jimmy Beans Wool.

I spent a lot of time and energy trying to choose a yarn for this KAL. I did not decide to jump in until after the Christmas at Downton colorway of Lorna’s Laces Sportmate, or any of the other appropriately sized yarn bases, was sold out. They made more, but the yarn won’t be available in time to cast on tonight, so I decided to use something else. At first I considered ordering another yarn, but ultimately decided to go with something in my stash.

I had several sport weight yarns in my stash to choose from, and was having a hard time deciding because I didn’t actually know what I was going to be knitting. All I knew was that it was an accessory that wasn’t a hat or socks. After narrowing my choices down to two yarns, I kept asking myself which I would want to use for a scarf, gloves, cowl, etch. Ultimately, I decided on this:

Studio Jane Yarn

It’s hard to see in this picture, but the yarn is black with two different purples. One is more of a bluish purple, while the other is a reddish purple – almost maroon or so. We had gauge info in advance, so I made a swatch.

Downton Abbey Mystery KAL gauge swatch

This picture is a bit bright, but you get the idea. At first I was going to use DPNs, but now I’m thinking of using the magic loop method. I will use the same size needle, but the DPNs are metal and the circular needle is wood, so I’m not sure how well this will work out.

Clue #1 was posted earlier today, so I already know what the accessory is. I think I made the right yarn choice. So shortly before Downton Abbey starts tonight I will cast on. I figure the counting will require too many cognitive resources, so I want to make sure I’m done with that before the show starts.

Oh, and on a totally unrelated note, THE NHL LOCKOUT IS OVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GO HAWKS!!!!!!!!!!!

4 Responses to “Tonight’s the night!”

  1. Karen said

    I’m participating in the KAL too. I love your yarn choice – I think it will look great! I am anxiously awaiting the start of Downton Abbey in a few minutes, but I won’t be casting on until tomorrow – I need to concentrate on my knitting too much so I can’t do both at once. Have fun!

    • Andi said

      I look forward to seeing yours! I will probably miss Downton Abbey tomorrow and watch the Golden Globes instead. I’m debating whether I will work on clue 2 during the awards or wait until I watch Downton Abbey later.

  2. Louise said

    Have fun with the KAL. Looking forward to progress pics!

Leave a Reply

 
