Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Christmas Baking

Posted by Andi on January 1, 2013

I did a little less baking for Christmas this year than I had last year. Tim made a carrot cake, and I didn’t have time to make another dessert, so I made two types of cookies.

The first batch of cookies I made were ginger snaps. I made the dough the Saturday before Christmas. According to the recipe, the dough is to chill in the refrigerator for an hour before being rolled out and cut with cookie cutters. So I made the dough, put it in the fridge, and waited. It took it out and started rolling it out, and it was still so soft. Clearly an hour wasn’t enough, or so I thought, so I put it back into the refrigerator to chill overnight.

Sunday morning the dough was much harder, so I started rolling it out. However, in the few minutes it took to roll it out, it became really soft again. Seriously, there was no get the shapes cut by the cookie cutters out and onto a baking sheet without totally mangling them. I followed the recipe exactly, but this dough would not hold shape enough to get a spatula under it after only a few minutes. Frustrated, I rolled the dough into cylinders and put it back into the refrigerator to chill yet again. This time, when I took it out, I just used a knife to cut the dough off the cylinder. They are a bit deformed looking but tasted really good.

Gingersnaps

They were very flavorful. I would be willing to use this recipe again flavor-wise, but I would either cut the dough with a knife or experiment with just dropping dough onto the baking sheet.

The second type of cookies I made was the crescent cookies my grandmother used to make for every holiday. They are my dad’s favorite cookie. I made them last year for the first time and was worried they wouldn’t turn out like my grandmother’s did, and he would be disappointed. But he loved them. So I made them again this year. I put some out on Christmas eve for our guests to have, and brought the rest over to my dad’s on Christmas day.

Crescents

These cookies are very easy to make, with just a few ingredients. I might make them more often. They are so easy and tasty. Every year I try to make other cookies, but these simple ones always turn out the best.

Leave a Reply

 
