Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Rockefeller

Posted by Andi on December 2, 2012

Rockefeller
Pattern: Rockefeller by Stephen West
Yarn: Shibui Knits Staccato in Artichoke (3.04 skeins) and Velvet (2.8 skeins)
Needle: US 3
Date started: September 12, 2012
Date completed: November 25, 2012

I don’t know if I made a mistake with the pattern or if it was just due to the fact that I didn’t knit a gauge swatch (shut up, it doesn’t matter if a shawl is a little bigger or smaller… I swatch when size matters), but I used a lot more yarn than the pattern called for. Because of the yardage Staccato comes in, I had to buy three skeins of each color, thinking I had more than enough. I even thought I might not need the third skein of Velvet at all. Turns out I used almost three full skeins of Velvet and had to just barely break into a fourth of Artichoke. I didn’t bother to look to see if others had this problem. I don’t really care. I’m very happy with how it turned out. The fact that I had to run back to the yarn store to buy another skein (thank goodness they still had it in the same dye lot) and used very little of it was just a minor inconvenience.

Now onto the bigger problem, one I should have considered before starting this project. I love the colors. I mean love them. I think the shawl looks great. But I have no idea what I’m going to wear this with. Maybe I need to go shopping to find clothes to go with my new accessory!!

Leave a Reply

 
