Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

My newest inspiration

Posted by Andi on November 18, 2012

As the weather turned colder I realized I needed new shoes for work. All of the work shoes I had that were in good condition had a fairly open foot — think typical ballet flats or pumps. I wanted something that covered my whole foot. A couple of weeks ago a local boutique had a sale on all of its footwear, and I purchased these shoes in black. Since I’m going to wear them in winter, I made sure I could wear them with socks so my feet would be extra warm.

And it worked! The first few times I wore them I had on hand knit socks, and it worked out great. I was thinking that it would be great to make some classy socks — ones that, if I wear them to work and they peek out a little bit, would still look professional and appropriate. Although I have a few pairs like that already, some of the socks I have are too brightly colored and variegated to look right.

After I finished the Poppy Socks I started looking carefully at the sock patterns I own and the yarn I have to come up with combinations that would work for work. I chose the Serendipity Socks by Ellie Putz. If I choose the right yarn, they would work really well. Guess what yarn I chose.

Fleur de Fiber Arden

Why do subtle when the socks could be fuchsia? Yep, I failed already. The first sock is almost finished and I love it. That’s what counts, right? So maybe I won’t be wearing these to work, but I love them. Next time I’ll make something a little more appropriate.

Leave a Reply

 
