Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Poppy Socks

Posted by Andi on November 9, 2012

Poppy Socks
Pattern: Poppy Socks by Cookie A.
Yarn: Halftone Artisan Handpainted Yarns One-Pair, 317 yds
Needles: US 1
Date started: September 9, 2012
Date completed: November 5, 2012

Do you like my Hello Kitty slippers in the background there?

I think this socks are okay. Just okay. I love the yarn, but I have issues with the pattern. First and foremost, I hate the heel construction. Maybe I did it wrong? I don’t know. I’ve never seen a short row heel done quite like this. It had some increase and decreases on the ankle, and it just goes too far back for me.

Poppy Socks

The second thing I didn’t like about the pattern is how unstretchy it is because there are decreases on every round. Luckily there were plenty of warnings about it on Ravelry, so I decided to keep the pattern on the front of the leg, and do the back of the leg in stockinette stitch.

Poppy Socks

I have no problem getting them on and off because the stockinette stitch has enough give to get my foot into it no problem. I also like the fact that there is a place on the sock, other than the sole, where you cans see what the yarn looks like without a stitch pattern. I like the contrast, and may consider doing it more often.

Leave a Reply

 
