Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

As finished as Gerda’s Scarf is going to get

Posted by Andi on November 2, 2012

I’ve been working on a hat, scarf, and mittens set to go with my winter coat last year. As you can recall, I only finished the hat and one mitten for last season. My goal was to finish the second mitten and the scarf in time for this winter.

The scarf has been the bane of my existence. It’s double knit, and it’s pretty, and aesthetically goes with the mitten pattern, which was the inspiration for the whole thing. But it’s double knit. And while double knitting in and of itself isn’t hard, double knitting such an intricate pattern is a pain.

I worked on the scarf for the first time in a long time at knit group this week. I finished the third pattern repeat (of 11). Here’s how it looks.

Gerda's Scarf

And this is the way it’s going to stay. Before I frog it.

When I got home from knit group I thought long and hard about this scarf. It’s gorgeous. I love it. It’s so pretty, would go so well with my coat, and would go so well with the mittens. It’s beautiful. And I’ve proven to myself that I can do it. But none of those things can overcome the fact that I absolutely hate knitting this scarf.

There have been other projects where I have really disliked the process. The saving grace for those projects was either that it was a gift so I had to finish it, or I really wanted the finished object badly enough to get through it.

Monday night it finally hit me: My love of this scarf is dwarfed by my hatred of knitting it. The finished object is not worth the trouble. So I will frog this scarf. Eventually. When I’m ready or when I need the yarn, whichever comes first.

I spent a couple of days considering what to do to keep my neck warm. I looked at various cowls and infinity scarves. There are a lot of pretty patterns out there. In the end I decided to go with something plain, since the mittens have a unique pattern and I didn’t want them to clash.

So yesterday I cast on the Tilted Shadows cowl. Instead of using four colors, I will use two, light blue and brown.

My new goal — to finish this cowl at some point tomorrow during our Star Wars marathon.

4 Responses to “As finished as Gerda’s Scarf is going to get”

  1. Louise said

    I love double knitting, but if you aren’t enjoying it then yes, rip it out. Knitting needs to be fun 🙂 good luck with the new cowl.

  2. Want me to finish it for you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
